Overclocking the RAM? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2007, 08:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Overclocking the RAM?

How am I suppose to overclock the RAM? I've been reading a few guides while searching through Google, but I'm still confused. Can someone help me? Is it similar to overclocking the CPU?
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 09:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Overclocking the RAM?

I would say it's best to keep the CPU and RAM speed the same, for a 1:1 ratio.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 09:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Overclocking the RAM?

Right now it's at a 4:5 ratio. Is that fine?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 09:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Overclocking the RAM?

CPU-Z screenies?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 09:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Overclocking the RAM?

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 12:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Overclocking the RAM?

your ram is actually underclocked. well, maybe. if it is ddr2 800, it is.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 12:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Overclocking the RAM?

It's underclocked? How?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 12:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Overclocking the RAM?

if its ddr2-800...the memory should be running at 400mhz instead of 360mhz
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 12:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Overclocking the RAM?

He said, if it's DDR2-800, than it's underclocked, because their stock speed is 400MHz.

edit: AP4LIFETN beat me to it..
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 12:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Overclocking the RAM?

yeah, that stuff should be running 3/1T timings at that speed bro.
as in 3-3-3-9-1T
hey b1g you ever break 400?
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Overclocking my new AM2 6000+ Lord Lihp Overclocking and Modding 16 08-18-2007 10:37 AM
ASUS Announces Hardware Based Real-time Overclocking Device Osiris Overclocking and Modding 2 07-06-2007 11:44 AM
Shutdown problem when overclocking Zatio89 Overclocking and Modding 6 05-20-2007 09:50 PM
I want to know about Overclocking for New Computer bbcrew Overclocking and Modding 3 05-10-2007 12:10 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.