Overclocking Questions - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2008, 06:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
The Zune Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ireland (Come on 'd Paddys)
Posts: 167
Post Re: Overclocking Questions

Just to confirm because I can't tell from replies etc. You did lower the multi for the RAM on your mobo. This will allow a high CPU overclock without overclocking your RAM to extremes, and ensure all temperatures are ok. I'm running the same board (alas, with a plain old e6320) and the temps given by different programs can differ a lot. Also, run memtest to ensure your RAM is ok, the first 4 tests should show what errors there may be then get back to us
__________________

The Zune Guy is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 07:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 75
Default Re: Overclocking Questions

My RAM is running at the normal 800mhz since it is running at a 1:1 ratio to the fsb and is DDR2 RAM. How important is it to be "Prime stable?" The computer crashes after around 20 minutes of prime testing but is able to do anytihng else. (I've been playing crysis for about 1.5-2hrs just fine.)
__________________

Jophess is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 08:41 PM   #13 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Overclocking Questions

I had my rig 5 hours prime before it crashed. It would sometimes hang or BSOD if I was using it while making music. Got sick of losing work so I just went back to the last good settings I had. You got some nasty vdroop going on there.

edit: Is it just me or is 1.56 too high for a 3.6ghz?
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 08:55 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 75
Default Re: Overclocking Questions

At 1.5625vcore my system still wasn't stable at 3.6ghz. So, I brought it back down to 3.5ghz and have been running Prime95 for an hour. The temps have been mid to high 60's, going as high as 70C for 1 or 2 seconds. Are these temps alright for full load, since my computer will rarely be at full load?

EDIT: Idle temps are 35C-38C.
Jophess is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 09:12 PM   #15 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Overclocking Questions

I usually tend to stay away from the 60's
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 02-24-2008, 01:15 AM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 75
Default Re: Overclocking Questions

It seems that my temps are all over the place. When idle, the temps are around 33C, when gaming (Crysis) the temps are around 40-45C, but after about an hour of Prime95, the temps get very close to 70C. Any ideas on what could cause this extreme change in temps?
Jophess is offline  
Old 02-24-2008, 12:12 PM   #17 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Overclocking Questions

prime is stressing your cpu to the max. You should be fine I doubt you'll ever see 60's in everyday use or gaming
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 02-24-2008, 04:48 PM   #18 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Overclocking Questions

you've got a quad, 70's are more then safe, although may actually lower the life span of the CPU (not something you'll notice, you'll upgrade by the time anything might even happen)

if your ram is running at a 1:1 ratio to the FSB, doesn't that mean your ram will kill your stability? as you overclock the CPU (if your using FSB increases) then your RAM will be overclocked as well, and those ram sticks can't overclock nearly as well as CPUs can.

being stable at long periods of 100% load is important, because it means that you'll have a significantly smaller chance of having a BSOD or other related crash or hardware failure. as thirdshift mentioned, having a PC die while doing work is the worst... stability tops a tiny bit of increased performance anyways
__________________

__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking Questions SpikedCola Overclocking and Modding 6 12-16-2007 08:23 PM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
A Couple GPU Overclocking Questions Poemaster Overclocking and Modding 3 10-31-2007 05:17 AM
Overclocking questions 101 lafguy81 Overclocking and Modding 29 10-23-2007 10:44 AM
Overclocking Questions BlueHeaven Overclocking and Modding 3 06-28-2007 04:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.