Overclocking Questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2008, 01:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 75
Default Overclocking Questions

Hello, today I decided that I would try overclock my Q6600 to 3.6GHz, but I have a few questions about voltages and stability.

As of right now I have my cpu vcore set to 1.5v in BIOS. My question is, why does it say my vcore is 1.44 when idle in cpu-z? Under load the vcore in cpu-z drops down to 1.392. Are these voltages safe if my load temps, in core temp, average at around 55C?

To test stability, how long should I run Prime95 or is it even necessary to be Prime stable?
Running Prime95, my computer crashes after about 5 minutes, with settings of:
400 fsb
9x multi
1.44 cpu voltage
2.0 ram voltage
1:1 fsb
5-5-5-15 timings

Any help is greatly appreciated.
__________________

Jophess is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 01:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Overclocking Questions

thats definitely not a good sign... unless Prime95 has been updated, back when I used it, you had to run one for each core you have...

try using Orthos to test your processor and you should run a MINIMUM of 15 minutes on Large FFTS without any problems

your settings are definitely not stable if you crash with 1 core on load... after 4 minutes

if your unstable, thats either saying your ram is being pushed to hard (downclock the ram when overclocking the cpu) or your voltages are too low for the power strain on the CPU
__________________

__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 11:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 75
Default Re: Overclocking Questions

Well, Prime95 does test all 4 cores at once now, at least I'm almost positive it does. My main concerns are about the voltages. Are my current voltages safe?
1.5v in BIOS
1.44v in cpu-z
1.392 under load
Jophess is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 12:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Overclocking Questions

I'm pretty sure that the standard for voltage is 1.7 as the max, so your good for now

If your system is unstable, like I said just raise the voltage

but yes, you need to be "Prime" stable because Prime95/Orthos/W/E starts taking up CPU Cycles and causes your CPU to be under %100 load, during your normal day you probably wont reach %100 unless your playing some super extreme game or opening multiple programs, but its good to be safe

a BSOD can kill you if your in scrim or if your writing a paper etc.

a load temp of 55 is good, over 60 is iffy and over 70 is not recomended (unless your on a quad) [which you are]

try using core temp or speed fan or some other program to check the voltages
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 12:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 75
Default Re: Overclocking Questions

Well, after the comp fail stability at 1.525v core I decided to bring the clock down to 3.5GHz and put the vcore at 1.5v. So far, Prime95 has been running for 10 minutes with no errors, I know it's no where near long enough, but it's the longest test. The max temp I've seen it 61C but the temps are usually closer to 58C.
Jophess is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 01:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Overclocking Questions

Just oc your cpu and not your ram and test. When you set vcore to 1.5 and it shows lower in cpuz its called vdroop. Some boards have it worse than others.

edit:
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/23...roop-explained
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 02:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 75
Default Re: Overclocking Questions

When the cpu was at 3.6, the ram was running at its normal speed of 800mhz.

With the vdroop, should I pay closer attention to the voltages reported in programs like cpu-z and speedfan rather than the voltage in bios in terms of telling if I have the cpu's vcore too high?
Jophess is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 02:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Overclocking Questions

I wouldn't use cpuz for voltage readings. Everest is good. People like to compensate for vdroop. When under load you'll see your cpu vcore drop. Bumping it up alittle to help the vdroop is beneficial
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 04:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 75
Default Re: Overclocking Questions

I decided I'd go for 3.6GHz again so I set my vcore in BIOS to 1.5626 which is reading as 1.440v in both everest and cpu-z while under load (1.504v when idle). Current temps under load are at a max of 62C after Prime being run for 15 minutes.

EDIT: The test crashed after 20 minutes.

Could browsing the internet while running Prime95 cause it to crash on a stable system?
Jophess is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 04:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Overclocking Questions

I don't think it will... I'm not a good source for this, but i browsed and went on tech forums while running it and nothing happened.

I hope the answer is no .
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking Questions SpikedCola Overclocking and Modding 6 12-16-2007 08:23 PM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
A Couple GPU Overclocking Questions Poemaster Overclocking and Modding 3 10-31-2007 05:17 AM
Overclocking questions 101 lafguy81 Overclocking and Modding 29 10-23-2007 10:44 AM
Overclocking Questions BlueHeaven Overclocking and Modding 3 06-28-2007 04:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.