overclocking question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2004, 10:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 6

Ok here ya go. All thats wrong is you Motherboard is just set the defaut safe speed of 266 which in the bios will be 133 amd's are doubled. you have 2600XP thats a barton core 333Mhz. So just go into the bios and change the FSB to 166Mhz. (that will be 333Mhz) That is the correct setting for a Barton core. And that IS NOT overclocked it will be running at the speed its suppose to be.
Hope that helps if not post again.

slapshot is offline  
Old 01-10-2004, 11:30 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 76

ok sounds good. Thanks a lot guys.

Powmax 0329-1 w/400w psu | Asus a7v8x-x mobo
Barton 2600 @ 2.1 | (SLK-800a w/Coolermaster)
Ultra 512mb PC2700 | Western Digital 120gig
Lite on 52x32x52 CD-RW | Lite On 4x DVD+-RW
Gigabyte Radeon 9200 | 5 Coolermasters


\"I do not regret the things I\'ve done...but those I did not do.\"
steven1110 is offline  
Old 10-28-2004, 11:01 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 39

i have an older gatway that has a 450 celeron processor i just got a celeron 900 ..i checked the bios and the fsb is at 66mhz.. i know that isn't the right fsb for the 900.. i wanted to change the value there but i cant seem to get to the option in bios what other options do i have to up the fsb and how so i do it...
trugoy is offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 02:16 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582

if you have a guide for your mobo look for any part that specifies the jumpers on your mobo. if you are lucky it will have jumper setups for all the different frequencies your board supports. if you dont have a guide then find out your mobo name, you can use cpu-z or dxdiag if im not mistaken to find out mobo name and then search online for a guide. if not try to enter your bios and look for a frequency control item and select the correct one.

if you have a system built by dell or one of those larger companies you may just be ****ed man...


The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.