Overclocking Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2005, 11:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default Overclocking Question

Hey guys.

I have just started overclocking my 3.2Ghz, right now im up to 3.45Ghz and the temperature has only gone up 2c to around 37c.

Is the temperature the only thing i should worry about when overclocking? because i rekon i could hit 3.7Ghz and have a sub 50 temp.
__________________

__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 12:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Ya, just make sure it is stable in SuperPI with the 32M calculation. Right now I think I am overclocked as far as it will go with my ram running at 1:1 with the HTT...
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 12:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

SuperPI and 32MB Calcutation??

i dont know what either of thoses are or do.
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 12:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

Gah 3.2Ghz and 3.72Ghz running 38-41C!!
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 12:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Moved to overclocking

Once you start to raise the vcore you will start to notice your temperature rise fairly quickly. Remember to adjust your RAM accordingly, and test for stability in prime95
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 12:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

yeah sorry bout that did'ne notice the overclocking forum my faourites go stright to hardware forums.
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 01:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sprooty
SuperPI and 32MB Calcutation??

i dont know what either of thoses are or do.
http://superpi.radeonx.com/

Download it and run the 32 million test (M stood for million!). It makes the CPU calculate PI to 32 million digits, and if it completes successfully (takes about a half hour on my PC) your overclock is OK. If it gives you an error, you either need to lower the speed, increase the voltage or give the cpu better cooling.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.