Overclocking question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2004, 03:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default Overclocking question

Right now I have an AMD Athlon XP 2500+ with the retail hsf and that crappy thermal pad, running at about 54 C under load. If I was to purchase some Arctic Silver 5 and a Coolermaster Aero 7 Lite hsf, would it be possible to clock to XP 3200+ speeds without getting too hot?
__________________

__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 03:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Yes it would; the temps would be very low. And the ASUS A7N8X-X and A7V8X-X are some of the best overclocking boards.
__________________

Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 04:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

I bet that you don't have enough case fans to get all that hot air out of there.
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 04:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

The stock pad and hsf for xp's is one of the better stocks of all time.
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 05:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

if you can spend around 30-40 i got the extreme volcano 12+ off newegg, and running my xp-m 2400+ at 2.6 ghz running load at 45-ish... its got a fan controller and its REAL loud if you want best heat dissipation... but i love it.
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 08:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Yes I can also vouch for the extreme volcano 12+, insane cooling, but don't buy it if you're running your computer overnight in your room.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 08:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 251
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Alex81388
Yes I can also vouch for the extreme volcano 12+, insane cooling, but don't buy it if you're running your computer overnight in your room.
Yeah I learned that the hard way. Can't wait to overclock, but I bet my parents will know when I'm awake past midnight looking up stuff on the internet
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
Forchunet is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 04:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204
Default

Right now I've got a Tt silentboost in my pc and it is very nice! The fans noise is only 21db and the copper hs does a great job. I can't clock very far yet because of my piece-of-crap ECS mobo but im running my 2500+ @ 1980MHz and I dont remember the temperature ever over 45C! You can put a 90mm Tt silentcat fan on it which is 21db and moves twice as much air! Copper is a good idea!
Ace No-Money is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 05:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

I have the CoolerMaster Aero 7 (not Lite version) and it runs fine. Had it for a long time and fan is still ABOVE rated RPM's. Even at 1.9v it will keep your CPU at a safe temp, running overnight or w/e. It's pretty quiet and comes with a fan controller and all that. I would suggest getting the regular version, the Lite is aluminum and will not perform as well.
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.