Overclocking question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2007, 10:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Overclocking question

Hopefully he has some contact information in his profile?
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 12:31 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Higach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to Higach
Default Re: Overclocking question

Ok heres the update. I started from 300x8 and started going up very slowly (4-5mhz at a time) I set to divider at 1:1 and 1.8v and am at stock voltage.. when I hit my first error I put memory up to 2.0v, it was fine, got up to 313x8 2.50ghz, and after that I hit problems.

I tried 315x8 with the same 1:1 divider, and within 15 seconds of prime95 I get errors on both cores. I tried upping it to 2.1v, same thing. So now my question is, now what? I tried to put it at 667 to set the divider at 4:5 which in theory should be 394Mhz and in my mind should work but it doesnt I get a blue screen memory dump before I get to desktop, and I dont when its 1:1..

now my question is does this mean its time to up CPU voltage? I also tried upping from 1.325v to 1.35v and for some reason in speedfan it shows vcore1 1.34v, vcore2 1.28v... why would my 2nd core be less voltage?

Anywho I am done for tonight. I am going to run prime95 all night on 313x8 to make sure its stable at 2.5ghz, but other than that really hoping to figure out how to get past this threshold ;P
__________________

__________________

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 GHz
Zalman 9500 HSF
BIOSTAR Tforce 965PT
eVGA 7950gt 512MB @ 590/740
3x1GB G.Skill DDR2 800 PC2 6400
Western Digital 160GB 7200RPM 16mb Cache
KINGWIN sk-523
Fortorn Source FSP 400W
Higach is offline  
Old 12-30-2007, 05:51 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 184
Send a message via MSN to TheGlazer
Default Re: Overclocking question

Higach, I am kinda new to Overclocking too, but I've been able to hit 3Ghz Stable (9hrs PRIME & Orthos), with my E6400 @ 1.3 Vcore (Set in Motherboard), but read @ 1.272Vcore by CPUZ. But we do have different motherboards........... I can try and help you, although I am kinda new, but I spent A LOT of hours reading up on overclocking before I started myself. I think you should start with updating your BIOS first.
__________________
CM Haf 932
Intel i7860
Asus Maximus 3 Forumula
2x2GB Corsair Dominator GT
XFX 6870 Dual Fan
Intel 80GB SSD
1GB Seagate 7200.12
1GB WD Black
Thermalright Venomous X
Corsair 750W Modular P/S
Samsung T220
Scythe Kaze Master Ace Fan Controller
Genius SW-5.1 1505 Speaker System
Windows 7 Professional 32bit.
TheGlazer is offline  
Old 01-01-2008, 01:52 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Higach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to Higach
Default Re: Overclocking question

Heres another question.

After 5-5-5-15, whats the next stage for loosening timings?

EDIT:

and this is what I meant by the 2 cores different volts: http://home.comcast.net/~jdowns2700/corevolts.jpg Is that normal?
All I did was increase "CPU Voltage" and it seems to only raise it on vcore1
__________________

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 GHz
Zalman 9500 HSF
BIOSTAR Tforce 965PT
eVGA 7950gt 512MB @ 590/740
3x1GB G.Skill DDR2 800 PC2 6400
Western Digital 160GB 7200RPM 16mb Cache
KINGWIN sk-523
Fortorn Source FSP 400W
Higach is offline  
Old 01-01-2008, 05:28 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 184
Send a message via MSN to TheGlazer
Default Re: Overclocking question

I'm not sure about your 2 different Vcores............. but I think the next step is 6-6-6-18.............. I've never loosened my timings past 5-5-5-15..........
__________________

__________________
CM Haf 932
Intel i7860
Asus Maximus 3 Forumula
2x2GB Corsair Dominator GT
XFX 6870 Dual Fan
Intel 80GB SSD
1GB Seagate 7200.12
1GB WD Black
Thermalright Venomous X
Corsair 750W Modular P/S
Samsung T220
Scythe Kaze Master Ace Fan Controller
Genius SW-5.1 1505 Speaker System
Windows 7 Professional 32bit.
TheGlazer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about overclocking Q6600. Pastasauce Overclocking and Modding 10 12-24-2007 03:18 AM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
Ram overclocking question Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-08-2007 11:21 PM
Overclocking Question BlueHeaven New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-28-2007 06:54 AM
video card overclocking, I have a question AMD6415 Overclocking and Modding 5 06-15-2007 09:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.