Overclocking Q6600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-18-2010, 01:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 69
Default Overclocking Q6600

I've been overclocking it with idle temperatures super low. When gaming I havn't seen CPU core go over 37C. But for some reason I can't overclock past 2.7 GHz. Anything 2.7 or under works perfectly. I have a EVGA 680i sli board and my CPU core voltage is 1.25v and Memory at 2v. I really don't understand, I'm guessing its either my motherboard or something in the bios that is stopping me. Also I have changed my multiplier from 9x to 8x and still no luck

Cheers for any help
__________________

webby93 is offline  
Old 09-18-2010, 02:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Overclocking Q6600

Funny, i'm doing the exact thing right now.

But I'm stuck at 3.29Gthz at 1.49Vcore

You can seriously bump your vcore, that should get you past 2.7, but remember to set your mem speed maually to 800.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-18-2010, 02:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 69
Default Re: Overclocking Q6600

I got my Vcore upto 1.33v and still no luck. And mem speed at 800. Should I go any higher with my Vcore. I have also heard that i might need to update my bios

Also if I need to update my bios I have no clue how to do it, what to download and where to download it so may need a little help
I think I have to do this. Thats if it is the right bios. CPU-Z says that it is an EVGA 680i SLI Motherboard (122-CK-NF68) but has Phoenix technologies 6.00pg bios when I think maybe I should have this? http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.aspx?m=204

Cheers James
webby93 is offline  
Old 09-18-2010, 03:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Overclocking Q6600

Well, ironically i just updated to the p33 bios, i used winflash utility to do it, and booted at 3.3GHZ.. first time ever, but i'm at 1.4Vcore as reported by cpu-z, which is 1.45 i the bios settings.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-18-2010, 04:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 69
Default Re: Overclocking Q6600

So if i just follow the instructions on that website should it work for my motherboard, and will it fix the problem is the main thing. And everything seems to be a bit ironic these days :P

Cheers James
webby93 is offline  
Old 09-18-2010, 06:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Overclocking Q6600

Yha, I frinally got over 3.3Ghz... But I didn't like my temps... Intelburntest hit 75C before i shut it off.

Not sure if it'll fix your issue, near the end of life for the q6600, they seemed to have lost their overclocking ability. But yes, follow the site to update the bios.

What type of cpu cooler do you have?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-18-2010, 06:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 69
Default Re: Overclocking Q6600

I've got the watercooler that came with my thermaltake kandalf case. And i've been trying to download the bloody iso image for like an hour and realised that it was just google chrome being a knob, went on internet explorer and worked perfectly which is a bit strange. Anyway, i'll let you know how it goes.
webby93 is offline  
Old 09-18-2010, 07:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 69
Default Re: Overclocking Q6600

Hmmmm, I burnt the iso onto a disk, then booted from disk. Everything worked. restarted and I still can't overclock past 2.7 GHz. Its so weird. Any more ideas?
webby93 is offline  
Old 09-18-2010, 08:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Overclocking Q6600

How old is your q6600? Older the better, well as long as its a G0 stepping.

What are all your Volts at?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-18-2010, 09:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 69
Default Re: Overclocking Q6600

Not a clue how old it is, is there anyway of finding out??
Ermmm, my cpu is at 1.33v and my memory is at 2v
__________________

webby93 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
q6600 overclocking NYbadboy911 Overclocking and Modding 4 05-14-2009 12:57 PM
Q6600 overclocking BonKerz Overclocking and Modding 16 06-25-2008 01:18 PM
Q6600 overclocking heister Overclocking and Modding 3 02-21-2008 02:53 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.