Overclocking prospects.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2006, 09:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 145
Default Overclocking prospects..

See my PC stats in my sig

My CPU generally idles in the upper 30s-40C, and my CPU voltage is detected as around 1.36v, according to Everest Ultimate and CPU-Z. Stock heatsink and fan.

With my temperatures in mind, how far do you think I could OC this box? I've never done it hardcore before, so I'd like to take it easy at first? Will I need to up the voltage? Get better cooling?

AMD X2 4400+ @ 2.5Ghz | ASUS A8N-SLI | 2GB Corsair XMS DDR400 [SIZE=\"1\"](2-3-3-6)[/SIZE] | eVGA GeForce 7900GT [SIZE=\"1\"](500/1500)[/SIZE] | 1TB of SATA harddrives | SB X-Fi | Antec TruePower2.0 550W
synth7 is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 09:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 71

where's the sig?

eleclipper is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 10:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz

i would get some artic silver 5 thermal paste. i got mine from ebay for real cheap. it will lower your temperature right off the bat. my old amd xp droped 9*C by wipping off the old paste and putting some of that on.

as far as how high u can get it... i dont know, just start creeping up.
Change the world
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 10:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 19

buy an arctic cooler 64 with some quality thermal paste, ie. artic silver 5. I used the arctic cooler with some crappy thermal paste and it got my OC'ed 3200 from high 30's to sub 30. so if you used some good thermal compound it would be much cooler.

you shouldnt really up the vcore by that much or at all really. not sure what the 4400 can take, but dont take it far at all; more risk of frying it.
peter7 is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 10:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240

I'd just start OCing, gradually push the thing up, and run 2 instances of Prime95 to make sure all is stable(compleately stable would be 12+ hours), if you get any errors try increasing the voltage slightly. Once your load temps(running Prime) get past 50 then thats getting towards the limit unless you buy a better cooler. With my Gigabyte G-Power pro I can get it to 2.6@1.5V with a load temp of 51C.
Bare in mind you have to look at your memory aswell when overclocking.
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=3738\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/3738.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
Chris_PC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.