Overclocking problems w/ my amd 3000+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2004, 09:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 53
Default Overclocking problems w/ my amd 3000+

I've hit kind of a snag w/ my overclocking. I was getting it faster by cranking the multiplier, i went (slowly) from 10.5 to 11.5, for a result of 2305 mhz. I cant just increase the external frequency or it increases the ram speed too. so, i tried turning the external frequency down and the multiplier up to 12, so that the ram was underclocked and the proc was running at 2320mhz core. this creates some system instability. any ideas on how to get past this? does it hurt to overclock your ram a few mhz? or am i pushing my processor already? I know heat isn't a problem, since I monitor it closely with MBM5.
Also, is it possible to damage your chip by overclocking it like this, even if it isn't overheating? when i first got up to 2305 i was pcmarking about a 3690, now its averaging about 3660. don't know if this means much, just curious about it though.

suggestions? thanks.
__________________

Nevermore is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 11:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

i might have not read this correctly but did you increase the core voltage? That helps after a certain point.
__________________

__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 12:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
Default

you will notice a larger increase in speed if you overclock the FSB of your chip, this will obviously only work if your RAM can take it.
As AndrewtheGreat said it may help to up your Vcore.
__________________
<center>
Pentium 4 2.8 with M0 stepping.
Only air cooling tho
<br>
<a href=\"http://www.extreme64.com\"><b>Extreme64.com</b></a>
<br>
<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1152343400\">Aquamark03</a></center>
domwells is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 01:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 53
Default

Yeah, i thought about upping the voltage, I just dont want to take that risk unprepared. i guess theres not much to it but increasing it slowly so not to overdo it? and no, i cant overclock the fsb becasue the ram is only ddr400, and the bus is already at 200. can i OC the ram a few mhz w/out any problems?
Nevermore is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 03:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
Default

it depends totally on the RAM, if I were you I wouldnt up the vcore unless you find that programs are running slowly.
__________________
<center>
Pentium 4 2.8 with M0 stepping.
Only air cooling tho
<br>
<a href=\"http://www.extreme64.com\"><b>Extreme64.com</b></a>
<br>
<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1152343400\">Aquamark03</a></center>
domwells is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 07:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 53
Default

Its kingston value ram, pc 3200. think i could a few mhz? so, if I'm getting stability problems such as the system locking up or shutting down, I shouldn't up the vcore unless they're just running slow?
Nevermore is offline  
Old 06-12-2004, 04:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
Default

With that RAM you will only be able to push the FSB a few mhz.
What I meant was that you should only really up the vcore if you need the extra speed out of your cpu, you need to watch the temps if you do up it and only go up in small increments. The vcore should give you more stability probably but a lot more heat.
__________________

__________________
<center>
Pentium 4 2.8 with M0 stepping.
Only air cooling tho
<br>
<a href=\"http://www.extreme64.com\"><b>Extreme64.com</b></a>
<br>
<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1152343400\">Aquamark03</a></center>
domwells is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.