overclocking problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2004, 01:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default overclocking problems

I just installed an extra 512mb of ram on my computer and it will no longer overclock as much as it did when there was only 512mb total in it. The ram modules are the exact same corsair xms pc3200 256mb sticks and they register fine the computer shows them all running in dual channel mode properly and everything, but with these new sticks my overclocking wont go as high. What could be causing this and how can i fix it.
__________________

__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 05:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 74
Send a message via ICQ to bad-dog
Default

was it dual channel before you added this RAM ? maybe now that it is dual channel it stops you from OCing it as you OC without Dual Channel ??
__________________

__________________
PC Specifications
OS:
Dual Boot
Windows XP Professional
Windows Server 2003
PSU:
Antec 550W
MoBo:
Abit IC7-MAX3
CPU:
P4 2.8 HT 800FSB Prescott OC to 3.1
RAM:
Samsung 512 x 2 PC3200 (Dual Channel)
VGA:
ASUS FX5600 Video Suite
HD:
WD 200G SATA
CD-RW + DVD:
LG Combo x16/52x32x52
Monitor:
LG 19\" Professional Series
bad-dog is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 06:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

no it was running dual channel before also
__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 11:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8
Default

how can i oc P4 2.0
Greentea08 is offline  
Old 05-31-2004, 12:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Greentea08
how can i oc P4 2.0
no offense, but I hate it when people steal other people's threads!!! It's annoying, make a new thread!!!
beau_zo_brehm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.