Overclocking Problem. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2008, 09:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 11
Send a message via MSN to Sturm Send a message via Yahoo to Sturm
Default Overclocking Problem.

Hello all.
I used AtiTool and GPU-Z to overclock my video card, a GeForce 7300GT AGP8x. Yeah, old i know, but i dont play new games.
Anyway, i overclocked its memory and core from 500mhz to 603mhz, while running a chinese power supply with no markins at all, i only know its 275 watts...

So, here comes the issue. Everything is fine and dandy when i close the programs, but when i restard the PC, the default clocks are there!

How do i force it to "remember" the new values?

Any suggestions?
__________________

Sturm is offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 09:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Overclocking Problem.

Did you save the clocks in a new profile? Set the clocks, then click "New", name it whatever you want (I just usually name it the clocks, like mine are 700/950 right now, so I'd save it as that). Then click 'Save.' After that, click on 'Settings' in the lower-right hand corner, click on the dropdown box and pick 'Startup' and then check the box taht says "Everytime ATITOOl is launched, load profile:" and pick your saved profile from the dropdown. Make sure there's a check next to "Load on Windows Startup via:" and then either pick Start menu or Registry entry (not sure what the difference is...I just have mine on Start Menu). Then click 'Back' and it should be saved.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-12-2008, 12:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Overclocking Problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Did you save the clocks in a new profile? Set the clocks, then click "New", name it whatever you want (I just usually name it the clocks, like mine are 700/950 right now, so I'd save it as that). Then click 'Save.' After that, click on 'Settings' in the lower-right hand corner, click on the dropdown box and pick 'Startup' and then check the box taht says "Everytime ATITOOl is launched, load profile:" and pick your saved profile from the dropdown. Make sure there's a check next to "Load on Windows Startup via:" and then either pick Start menu or Registry entry (not sure what the difference is...I just have mine on Start Menu). Then click 'Back' and it should be saved.
Yeah, you either have to set it to do that, and run ATiTool everytime you boot up. Alternatively, you can flash the GPU BIOS with the new speeds. You need to be careful while doing that though, since you can mess up the card.
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 07-12-2008, 01:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Overclocking Problem.

That's why you can set ATiTool to boot automatically .

I don't know if he wants to risk messing with the card's BIOS.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-12-2008, 02:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Overclocking Problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
That's why you can set ATiTool to boot automatically .

I don't know if he wants to risk messing with the card's BIOS.
Right, that's why I said he had to be careful. I don't like having a lot of stuff starting up, but that's just me. I flashed my GPU BIOS, and I came out unscathed.
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 07-12-2008, 04:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 11
Send a message via MSN to Sturm Send a message via Yahoo to Sturm
Default Re: Overclocking Problem.

Thank you so much for the quick and precise reply!
How can I set AtiTool to boot on startup? And yes, ive done all the things in the profile.
Would MSConfig do the job?
__________________

Sturm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking Ram problem Higach Overclocking and Modding 1 01-05-2008 02:06 AM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
Wireless Problem! dropper Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 07-08-2007 04:58 PM
Dhcp leasing problem Kloppstock Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 12 05-13-2007 07:13 PM
cant find the problem... Jhill1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 05-07-2007 04:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.