Overclocking Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2006, 08:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
Default Overclocking Problem

I was trying to overclock my PC to the limit so I entered the BIOS setting and changed some setting. 133/33 mhz - 160-4/40mhz??and increased the voltage from 2.5v - 2.6v, 1.5v - 1.6v, 2.5v - 2.7v. I save and exit and my pc restarts as normal. This is where my problem starts...... so my PC restarts and the first thing that should happen as on almost all PC a black screen appears with a memory test, checks your hardware and gives you the option the enter the BIOS setting etc by pressing DEL or another button so you get the piont! When my PC restarts the screen stays blank and yes it is on. The monitor seems to be on standby.

Has anyone got any idea how to fix this and get my PC back on track??

CPU: XP 2000+

Thanks, Skeet

skeetdude is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 09:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz

it looks like you arn't 'posting'. this happend to me the other day when i upped the fsb too high in one go. you gotta reset your cmos. this is just my first impression, you got more specs on your ram/mobo?
to reset your cmos, you are clearing your bios back to default speeds. i think all mobos do it differently. mine has a button on the board. read your manual for the mobo. you'll have to start ocing again from the begining. i would recommend only changing one thing at a time so you know where you go wrong! only up your fsb like 2-3 Mhz at a time... and thats until you get up there, then just 1 at a time.

did you go from stock to upping all that stuff?

Change the world
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 10:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946

Take out your battery on the mbaord for 5 mins, put it back it in and reboot...stop changing random numbers in your bios...spend a few days learning about overclocking before you try it
P4 3.2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 10:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10

Thanks, Ive got quite an old motherboard, its Jetway V400DA and I have 2 x 512MB PC2100. Where abouts is the button on your motherboard??
skeetdude is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 12:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10

Thanks for your advise vaderpro but I have taken out the mother board battery for over 5mins put it back in and still it will not start!
skeetdude is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 01:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10

Fixed it!! Long story short I disconected all the power!!

Thanks cwiz and vaderpro!! I don't what id do with out this forum

skeetdude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.