Overclocking Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2006, 09:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
Default Overclocking Problem

I was trying to overclock my PC to the limit so I entered the BIOS setting and changed some setting. 133/33 mhz - 160-4/40mhz??and increased the voltage from 2.5v - 2.6v, 1.5v - 1.6v, 2.5v - 2.7v. I save and exit and my pc restarts as normal. This is where my problem starts...... so my PC restarts and the first thing that should happen as on almost all PC a black screen appears with a memory test, checks your hardware and gives you the option the enter the BIOS setting etc by pressing DEL or another button so you get the piont! When my PC restarts the screen stays blank and yes it is on. The monitor seems to be on standby.

Has anyone got any idea how to fix this and get my PC back on track??

CPU: XP 2000+


Thanks, Skeet
__________________

skeetdude is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 10:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

it looks like you arn't 'posting'. this happend to me the other day when i upped the fsb too high in one go. you gotta reset your cmos. this is just my first impression, you got more specs on your ram/mobo?
to reset your cmos, you are clearing your bios back to default speeds. i think all mobos do it differently. mine has a button on the board. read your manual for the mobo. you'll have to start ocing again from the begining. i would recommend only changing one thing at a time so you know where you go wrong! only up your fsb like 2-3 Mhz at a time... and thats until you get up there, then just 1 at a time.

did you go from stock to upping all that stuff?
__________________

__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 11:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Take out your battery on the mbaord for 5 mins, put it back it in and reboot...stop changing random numbers in your bios...spend a few days learning about overclocking before you try it
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 11:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks, Ive got quite an old motherboard, its Jetway V400DA and I have 2 x 512MB PC2100. Where abouts is the button on your motherboard??
skeetdude is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 01:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks for your advise vaderpro but I have taken out the mother board battery for over 5mins put it back in and still it will not start!
skeetdude is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 02:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Fixed it!! Long story short I disconected all the power!!

Thanks cwiz and vaderpro!! I don't what id do with out this forum
__________________

skeetdude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.