overclocking pcie bus - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2008, 11:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 107
Default overclocking pcie bus

Hi, i've been overclocking my computer lately, with pretty good success. So far i've got my cpu to 3 ghz, haven't stress tested it yet, but i'm thinkin it should be good since i made it to 10 hours with 2.96 ghz on orthos, and i'm doin' go with my video card. But while oc'ing my cpu, i noticed that there was an option for overclocking the pci express bus. I didn't do anything with it, cause when i searched, i didn't find a whole lot of info on it, so i thought i'd ask before i tried anything. Thanks for any info in advance. Gavin.
__________________

__________________
Lian Li
Asus P5N-D
q6600 2.24Ghz @ stock
2x 8800gts 320gb stock no sli
G.Skill 8Gb
Corsairs 520w
SyncMaster 22in. 2ms
Hanns•G 24.7in 5ms
Samsung 32in HDTV
150gb 10,000rpm OS disk
400gb/640gb storage disks
Windows XP Professional x64
LinuxMint Latest
g2k556 is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 01:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: overclocking pcie bus

Don't touch it.
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 01:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: overclocking pcie bus

115 is okay. i used to run my 7900gs's at like 125+ . i'd read more about it first. you dont just crank it up. there are other slight adjustments to make.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 11:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: overclocking pcie bus

Heh i think mine is still set to 125...
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 07:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: overclocking pcie bus

if it doesnt de-stablize the whole system i say, "meh"....why not?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 07:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: overclocking pcie bus

On three different boards it caused File curruption.

Least for me.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 07:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: overclocking pcie bus

heh heh. that sucks.
i only run mine bout 115. these new cards cost a wee bit more than a 7900gs.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-04-2008, 09:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default Re: overclocking pcie bus

Unless u know what u are doing, leave it as is.
ag3 is offline  
Old 03-04-2008, 10:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: overclocking pcie bus

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
heh heh. that sucks.
i only run mine bout 115. these new cards cost a wee bit more than a 7900gs.
Ya, but they have warranties
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 03-04-2008, 10:52 AM   #10 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: overclocking pcie bus

if you're willing to play around with it, don't go past 125MHz. From my experience though, it doesn't seem to do much for performance at all.
__________________

__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
Overclocking XFX GeForce 7600GS 256MB PCIe Comdot Overclocking and Modding 27 05-07-2008 06:49 PM
8800GT is on Bus PCIE x0? huynsta Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-30-2007 11:36 PM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Setting BUS Speed for PCIE?? Shaundale Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 10-17-2007 05:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.