overclocking an opty 165 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2007, 09:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default overclocking an opty 165

ive been OCing my opty 165 lately and I have hit a wall. i have only raised the fsb to 210 and i have a 1.89ghz clock, and when i raise the fsb to 215 windows crashes. I lowered my HT link to 4x already cause I knew that would be a problem sooner or later, but what gives? my multiplier is only at 9x, shouldn't i be able to go farther than this?
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 09:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: overclocking an opty 165

Yea, you ran into the same problem i did. You should be able to go much higher but your ram is holding you back, which i presume it is the corsair value ram like i had. The highest i was able to raise my fsb with value ram was about 240 and a multi of 9 which made the clock around 2.25ghz. I knew my ram was holding me back so i bought some lower cas G skill and now i am running close to 3.0ghz on the stock cooler. Hope this helps.
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 11:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: overclocking an opty 165

i did the math and my ram is at 532mhz right now, not a good idea. so can i just go into the BIOS and turn it down? 2.25 is fine for me, i dont need to push it up to 2.6 or anything.

I was considering getting better/more ram soon anywyas is this a good pic?
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 11:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: overclocking an opty 165

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
i did the math and my ram is at 532mhz right now, not a good idea. so can i just go into the BIOS and turn it down? 2.25 is fine for me, i dont need to push it up to 2.6 or anything.

I was considering getting better/more ram soon anywyas is this a good pic?
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
what kind of motherboard do you have? Just set the memory:fsb ratio lower
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 11:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: overclocking an opty 165

I have an Abit Kn8 ultra nforce4 chipset the ram is pc3200
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 11:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: overclocking an opty 165

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
I have an Abit Kn8 ultra nforce4 chipset the ram is pc3200
Well with that chipset you should be able to mess with the memory:fsb ratios....so RAM ocing capability is basically irrelevant.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 12:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: overclocking an opty 165

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
I have an Abit Kn8 ultra nforce4 chipset the ram is pc3200
If you where to buy new RAM, better overclocking RAM as it where. You would not want to buy the SAME rated speed as you have now.
Even then you would not want to stick it in with your old Sticks. You would need to take the old Sticks out..
You would want DDR 500 Or higher. The higher the stock speed of the RAM the more it will allow you to OC the Proc.

Have you been adjusting the Vcore and other Voltages as you go?
What heatsink?
What are Max Load temps?
Ste is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 12:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: overclocking an opty 165

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
I have an Abit Kn8 ultra nforce4 chipset the ram is pc3200
you should be able to lower the ram speed in bios. ie drop the speed to ddr333 or ddr266 to keep it at/below/maybe a few mhz above the rated speed of ddr400 (pc3200) as you raise the clock of your cpu. with that mobo and cpu you should have no problems reaching 2.7+ if you can get your ram set up right.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 04:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: overclocking an opty 165

well i tried lowering my ram to ddr266 and bushing the fsb to 215 but for some reason the BIOS didn't keep that because when checked with cpu-z nothing changed.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 05:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: overclocking an opty 165

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
well i tried lowering my ram to ddr266 and bushing the fsb to 215 but for some reason the BIOS didn't keep that because when checked with cpu-z nothing changed.
that doesn't sound right. Are you sure CPU-Z is right?
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Shutdown problem when overclocking Zatio89 Overclocking and Modding 6 05-20-2007 09:50 PM
I want to know about Overclocking for New Computer bbcrew Overclocking and Modding 3 05-10-2007 12:10 AM
Need Help - Overclocking for First Time Sydzy Overclocking and Modding 1 05-01-2007 10:01 AM
Overclocking on a Non O/C enabled Mobo. Oreo Overclocking and Modding 2 04-02-2007 06:21 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.