Overclocking Opteron 165 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2006, 04:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 32
Default Overclocking Opteron 165

Hi all I am asking for guidance or to be directed to a site or topic where it will give me a step by sstep guide on overclocking my opteron 165. I have never done it before and am a little nervous about it, so hopefully you can help.

My system

cpu- opteron 165

Card - evga 7900 gtx 512

memory - G.Skill 2GB DDR HZ PC4000 (2x1GB) CAS3 Dual Channel Kit (F1-4000USU2-2GBHZ)

MB - DFI LanParty UT NF4 Ultra-D (Socket 939) PCI-Express Motherboard

Thx
__________________

pacey9 is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 05:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

check out the sticky at the top of the page.
__________________

wtk pro l is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 09:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

ditto, read the stickied guides and holler back here if you have trouble we're always willing to try and make things clear for you
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 12:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 32
Default

Sorry for being a complete bloody noob but can you post the link to what i am supposed to be looking at
pacey9 is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 01:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

http://techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=22031
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 10:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

i think the first thing u should do is raise the FSB ( by 5 increments), dont worry about the memor divider yet because from looking at your ram you can raish the FSB by 50Mhz and nothing will happen to your Ram because it automatically gets downclocked from 250MHz to 200 so you have 50Mhz room to OC. so 50xMultiplier.....which i think is 11 or somehting= 550MHz+1.8GHz=2.35 or something like that........im a bit sleepy atm.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 02:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

ya I'm going to need some "step by step" "one on one" instruction to OC that Opty 148 in a few months... I'll come to TF every step of the way.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.