Overclocking. (OMFG FRE ITAMZ!) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2004, 01:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to Wartorment
Default Overclocking. (OMFG FRE ITAMZ!)

I hope I got your attention, I was just wondering, does OC'ing offer diminishing returns? My friend thinks so, but I don't.
__________________

Wartorment is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 03:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

eh if u do it properly it wont. Meaning, proper cooling and everything else.
__________________

__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 01:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to Wartorment
Default

Then why is it that the more I OC my 9200SE the lower my benchmarking scores are.
Wartorment is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 03:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

good point, maybe it isnt able to run stable when you OC it.
__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 01:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to Wartorment
Default

It DOES have passive cooling, I just wanted to see how it would affect my 3dmarks, this thing sucks more than my Ge3Ti200.
Wartorment is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 07:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

i tried to OC my 9200SE and it'll OC to beat hell with no artifacts in ATITOOL but as soon as I do ANYTHING it locks up and i have to restart.....so i just left it at stock because its mostly for websurfin anyways...maybe the occasional HL and W3
__________________

__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.