Overclocking an old Dell - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2005, 11:07 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Download Clockgen. It's a windows based OC'ing program.

Don't know why people forgot to mention that

Mind you, upping the FSB will be raising your memory and the AGP:PCI bus so you'll be quite limited to as how far you can actually push it but yeah, it sucks when people come in here and are like "Yeah I just got this brand new dell and I want to OC" and ya simply gotta say

"yeah....dell = POS"

Good for noobs and if you simply want to put in a new graphics card or perhaps RAM or something but getting beyond that it's not worth it.

I know you just got this old dell and whatnot, so the case isn't the same but yeah, they don't want you having extra options on a prebuilt
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 11:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I thought clockgen only worked on it's supported mobo's.

Clockgen is from cpuid.com btw
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 11:38 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
I thought clockgen only worked on it's supported mobo's.
Never used it personally. But I know it's what a lot of the people who have non-oc'ing boards use.

Worth it to check out at the very least
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 02:27 PM   #14 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

your def going to need more ram in that machine. i wouldnt bother overclocking it.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 02:53 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119
Default

yeah i know- ive already put parts on ebay

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...e=STRK:MESE:IT

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...e=STRK:MESE:IT
__________________

Pilotwings119 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.