Is overclocking needed? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2011, 09:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Morris, IL
Posts: 178
Default Is overclocking needed?

I just got my new GTX 570 and I am curious it my i7 is bottleneckin it, and I also feel as

if my ram isn't performing as fast as it should. My 920 is at stock speeds and every time

I try to set my ram to 2000mhz my computer won't boot. I have a decent heatskin

(Thearmaltake Venom). So would I benefit a huge amount if I were to OC it?
__________________

__________________

Core i7 920 DO
Silverstone 700W Modular
EVGA 570 GTX 800/1600
3x2GB G.Skill 2000Mhz
Gigabyte Ud7
Corsair 800D

Galaxy 460 GTX PPU
Inked is offline  
Old 01-12-2011, 10:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Is overclocking needed?

definitely not. With the exception of the sandy bridge and gtx580's you've pretty much got the top of the line stuff, which isn't really tested by applications out there now. Unless you're doing CAD or gaming on a couple 30" monitors you won't see much tangible speed increases by OC'ing. You'll really only see improvements in games or in benchmarks.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 01-13-2011, 01:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Morris, IL
Posts: 178
Default Re: Is overclocking needed?

Thanks, but would I have to OC my CPU to get my ram to run at 2000mhz, I find it kinda pointless to have fast ram if your not using it.
__________________

Core i7 920 DO
Silverstone 700W Modular
EVGA 570 GTX 800/1600
3x2GB G.Skill 2000Mhz
Gigabyte Ud7
Corsair 800D

Galaxy 460 GTX PPU
Inked is offline  
Old 01-13-2011, 02:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Is overclocking needed?

You might it depends on your motherboard and it's native ram speeds.


Are you gonna notice if you don't? No, probably not.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 01-13-2011, 04:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Is overclocking needed?

You won't notice anything real with tri-channel over 1600mhz. Yes, you would need to OC your i7 to reach 2000 but it's not practical.

Answer 2, yes you're bottlenecking the 570 if your running your CPU at stock speeds.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 01-13-2011, 07:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Morris, IL
Posts: 178
Default Re: Is overclocking needed?

So my stock 920 is bottlenecking my 570. What would I have to run my CPU at to make it not bottleneck, because I have little to no knowledge of OC'in.
__________________

Core i7 920 DO
Silverstone 700W Modular
EVGA 570 GTX 800/1600
3x2GB G.Skill 2000Mhz
Gigabyte Ud7
Corsair 800D

Galaxy 460 GTX PPU
Inked is offline  
Old 01-13-2011, 07:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Is overclocking needed?

What are you using to cool your cpu? The stock heatsink or an aftermarket cooling solution? You need to post some screenshots of CPU-Z (all the tabs) and a screenshot of HWMonitor after it's been running ,in the backgroud, for at least an hour of heavy computing.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-13-2011, 08:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Morris, IL
Posts: 178
Default Re: Is overclocking needed?

I'm at school right now so I can't post screenies, but I have a Thermaltake Venom, which I believe is similar to the TRUE if I can remember correctly.
__________________

Core i7 920 DO
Silverstone 700W Modular
EVGA 570 GTX 800/1600
3x2GB G.Skill 2000Mhz
Gigabyte Ud7
Corsair 800D

Galaxy 460 GTX PPU
Inked is offline  
Old 01-13-2011, 11:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Is overclocking needed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inked View Post
So my stock 920 is bottlenecking my 570. What would I have to run my CPU at to make it not bottleneck, because I have little to no knowledge of OC'in.
Eh to high, but a little OC wouldn't hurt. Don't OC unless you have an after market heatsink.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 01-14-2011, 03:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Morris, IL
Posts: 178
Default Re: Is overclocking needed?

This is all the requested info. I ran LinX for an hour, because none of my games were

enough stress (30% and less). If something else is needed let me know.

Thanks, InKeD

__________________

__________________

Core i7 920 DO
Silverstone 700W Modular
EVGA 570 GTX 800/1600
3x2GB G.Skill 2000Mhz
Gigabyte Ud7
Corsair 800D

Galaxy 460 GTX PPU
Inked is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
overclocking my q9300- help needed philbar71 Overclocking and Modding 23 01-05-2009 08:00 PM
OVERCLOCKING NOT NEEDED special theory lawrephord100 Overclocking and Modding 4 02-09-2008 06:58 PM
overclocking mobo needed dave39 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 07-05-2006 12:03 PM
overclocking help needed killzoneman0 Overclocking and Modding 4 08-24-2005 02:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.