Overclocking... need help! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2011, 08:52 PM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Overclocking... need help!

Slaymate--I took your advice and purchased a data drive to use for the page file. Now that I have a data disk, it probably makes sense to move things like my downloads and libraries over there. Is just changing the target (from C: to F good enough, or are there other steps to make sure everything goes to the proper area in the future?
__________________

__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 12:20 AM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Overclocking... need help!

Windows 7 - Moving My Documents

That will move pretty much everything that needs to be moved. It will allow programs to still be installed on the C drive, to keep speeds up.
__________________

__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 12:38 AM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Overclocking... need help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 95BlackGA View Post
Windows 7 - Moving My Documents

That will move pretty much everything that needs to be moved. It will allow programs to still be installed on the C drive, to keep speeds up.
Thanks, I'll check that out.

On another subject, I was able to run LinX for 20 minutes with no crashes at BCLK 160 with a multiplier of 25 (4GHz). I had to jack the VTT to 1.215 and the VCore to 1.35625. I tried to run 7-7-7-21-54-1 latencies, but it wouldn't post even with VCore at 1.45, so I gave up on that and went with 7-7-7-21-74-2, and it seems to be fine. With the fans cranked, I was able to finish the 20 minutes at 65 degrees, but it was WAY too loud; with comfortable fan levels, it didn't get any higher that 68 degrees. So, I think this is probably good enough for me... I could probably manage to get it a little higher, but I broke 4GHz, which was my goal. So I decided to run Prime95 with a blended test. The temperatures stayed around 65 degrees, but one of the workers died at the two hour mark, with the following error: "FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.486328125, expected less than 0.4. Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file." Could someone tell me how to interpret this?
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 05:03 PM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Overclocking... need help!

I would bump the CPU VCore up one more notch.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 10:38 PM   #25 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Overclocking... need help!

Thanks! I'll try that. One other thing... while at work today, I did a bit of research on that error, and some of the info made it sound like this was typically more of a memory error than a CPU error; I believe you told me that the VCore is going to effect the memory in some way, but I'm pretty vague on the specifics. Something was mentioned about it possibly involving the CPU memory interface, or the northbridge, and that different Prime95 tests and also MemTest could help me narrow things down. On your i7 overclocking page, you had mentioned some different voltages to adjust for things like this; is there a point where I should start going into the details, or should the VCore solve most of my problems?
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 04-19-2011, 05:22 PM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Overclocking... need help!

After 2 hours of Prime95 it's really hard to say what caused the error. You could of had a minor power fluctuation or it could be from a number of different things. More than likely a bump of the CPU VCore will fix it, if not I would try bumping the CPU VTT voltage up another notch. It could be that your CPU just doesn't like running at that speed for that long.

Are you planning on running Folding@Home or some other programs that needs you to run at 100% load for hours at a time? Most games and programs will never stress your cpu that hard for that long.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-19-2011, 09:12 PM   #27 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Overclocking... need help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
After 2 hours of Prime95 it's really hard to say what caused the error. You could of had a minor power fluctuation or it could be from a number of different things. More than likely a bump of the CPU VCore will fix it, if not I would try bumping the CPU VTT voltage up another notch. It could be that your CPU just doesn't like running at that speed for that long.

Are you planning on running Folding@Home or some other programs that needs you to run at 100% load for hours at a time? Most games and programs will never stress your cpu that hard for that long.
No, I'll never be running stuff like that, but I'm a big believer in the computer being rock solid... if it's just a matter of a little tweaking here and there, I'd rather play it safe. My understanding is that if you can run that program for 24 hours, you're unlikely to have any issues with stability.
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 04-20-2011, 12:26 PM   #28 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Overclocking... need help!

My folding ran for usually 30ish hours than borked......
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-21-2011, 08:45 PM   #29 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Overclocking... need help!

For purposes of online manhood, do people usually post their overclock as the speed in the BIOS, or the speed under Turbo conditions? In other words, I could say that my computer runs at 4GHz (160 X 25), which is what is in the BIOS, but technically, when I run stuff like Prime95, it is in Turbo mode and running at 4.160GHz. I don't want to be dishonest
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 08:03 AM   #30 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Overclocking... need help!

What does CPU-Z report? That's what I go by.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking The 940BE & some q's about overclocking DarksideShuffle Overclocking and Modding 3 07-28-2010 08:37 PM
HD 3850 overclocking and Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 overclocking help! Pepsiboy700 Overclocking and Modding 13 12-02-2007 11:16 PM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
overclocking andrewsvalesen Overclocking and Modding 14 11-21-2006 04:05 PM
Sorry need help overclocking forscythe Overclocking and Modding 1 09-17-2006 07:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.