Overclocking... need help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2011, 10:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Overclocking... need help!

Hey all. After a couple of months of down-time due to manufacturing errors, I've got my monster watercooling setup (GPU Blocks on one loop, CPU and Chipset on the other, each with three-fan external radiators) running, so I'm ready to seriously overclock. I basically threw out all the work that I'd done on air and started over.

So far, I can get the BCLK up to 150, but I'm getting stuck on 154 (since I had to tweak a lot of stuff at 150, I'm lowering the interval at which I raise it to 4 instead of 5). LinX (which I have set to use all memory) is stopping with errors at 8:30 or 8:31 (depending on ambient temp, RealTempGT is showing a max 59 to 61 degrees... according to the manufacturer of the thermal paste I used, it is going to take a while to cure, so I expect these temps to drop a little). I tried upping the QPI PLL (I think this is what you're supposed to do if LinX goes down between 1 and 10 minutes?) from 1.14V to 1.16V and this lead to a BSOD (stop 0x0000124); I then tried upping the VTT from 1.175V to 1.195V, which made the BSOD go away, but it still errored at 8:30. Raised the QPI PLL again twice (up to 1.2V)... still errored at 8:30.

I'm going to use Slaymates questionairre to give the details. I went ahead and undid the changes that I mentioned in the last paragraph.

Bios Template
•Mother Board (Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD9)
•Drivers (all current)
•Bios (newest, a beta version)
•CPU (i7-980X)
•CPU Cooler (water cooled)
•Memory ( G.Skill Trident+ Turbulence II 12GB (3 x 4GB) DDR3 2000)
•PSU (Silverstone ST1500 1500W)
•GPU (2 x XFX ATI Radeon HD 5970 2 GB)
•Drivers (newest catalyst... drivers only, no software)
•Operating System (Windows 7 64-bit)


Frequency Control
•CPU Clock Ratio (25X)
•CPU Host Frequency/BCLK (3.85 GHz/154)
•MCH Strap (???)
•CPU Uncore Frequency (3080 MHz {X20})
•CPU Clock Skew (0 ps)
•Spread Spectrum (???)
•PCIE Frequency (Auto)
•OC Recovery (???)

Here are some Frequency settings that weren't mentioned, as I couldn't find all of the ones requested:
QPI Clock Ratio (Auto)
QPI Link Speed (5.54 GHz)
Extreme Memory Profile (Disabled)
PCI Express Clock Drive (900 mV)
CPU Clock Drive (800mV)
IOH Clock Skew (0 ps)


Memory Feature
•Memory Speed (10X)
•Memory Control Setting (???)
•Memory Frequency (1540)
•Channel Interleave Setting (Auto-6)
•Rank Interleave Setting (Auto-4)
•Memory Low Gap (???)
•tCL Setting (8)
•tRCD Setting (8)
•tRP Setting (8)
•tRAS Setting (24)
•tRFC Setting (74)
•Command Rate (2)

Some Memory settings that weren't mentioned:
Performance Enhance (Quick)
DRAM Timing Selectable (Auto)
tRC (Auto-33)
tRRD (Auto-4)
tWTR (Auto-5)
tWR (Auto-10)
tWTP (Auto-21)
tWL (Auto-7)
tRTP (Auto-5)
tFAW (Auto-20)
B2B CAS Delay (Auto, but just shows "-")
Round Trip Latency (Auto-54)



Voltage Control
•EVGA VDroop Control/Load Line Calibration (Level 1... there is also a Level 2)
•CPU VCore (1.28750)
•CPU VTT/QPI DRAM Voltage (1.175V)
•CPU PLL VCore (1.800V)
•DIMM Voltage (1.64V... I can take it higher, but the BIOS makes it look like this out of spec, as the numbers are in pink, with the lower ones being in white, and the really high ones in flashing red, although this may just mean it is overvolted and not dangerous)
•DIMM DQ Vref (???)
•QPI PLL VCore (1.140V)
•IOH VCore (1.38V)
•IOH/ICH I/O Voltage (1.66V)
•ICH VCore (1.26V )
•PWM Frequency (???)

There was some Voltage settings that weren't mentioned:
PCIE (1.500V)
DRAM Termination (0.75V)
Ch A (there is also a Ch B and Ch C) Data VRef (0.75V)
Ch A (there is also a Ch B and Ch C) Address VRef (0.75V)

CPU Feature
•Intel SpeedStep (Disabled)
•Turbo Mode Function (Auto)
•CxE Function (???)
•Execute Disable Bit (Enabled)
•Virtualization Technology (Disabled)
•Intel HT Technology (Enabled)
•Active Processor Cores (All)
•QPI Control Settings (???)
•QPI Link Fast Mode (???)
•QPI Frequency Selection (???)

Here are some that weren't mentioned:
QPI Clock Ratio (Auto)
CPU Enhanced Halt--Disabled
C3/C5/C7 State Support--Disabled
CPU Thermal Monitor--Enabled
Bi-Directional PROCHOT--Enabled

Thanks, everyone!
__________________

__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 03-25-2011, 12:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Overclocking... need help!

You should list your voltages too.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 03-25-2011, 12:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Overclocking... need help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
You should list your voltages too.
I did... they're in the template.
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 03-25-2011, 02:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Overclocking... need help!

Know whats even stupider is i read them... then relooked at the post, and forgot them.

You should use lvl 2 LLC... Keeps the vcore dropping so much... i'm using it on my ud3
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 03-25-2011, 02:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Overclocking... need help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Know whats even stupider is i read them... then relooked at the post, and forgot them.
Been there
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 03-25-2011, 05:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Overclocking... need help!

set the load-line calibration to Level 2

set the DRAM Voltage to 1.65v

Leave the QPI PLL Voltage alone.

For Stop****0x0000124 raise the CPU VTT

For most errors you should raise the CPU VCore
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 03-25-2011, 06:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Overclocking... need help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
set the load-line calibration to Level 2

set the DRAM Voltage to 1.65v

Leave the QPI PLL Voltage alone.

For Stop****0x0000124 raise the CPU VTT

For most errors you should raise the CPU VCore
My DRAM is only adjustible in 0.02 increments; I'm assuming 1.66V is ok?

Thanks, I'll do these when I get home!
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 03-25-2011, 07:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Overclocking... need help!

Yes, set it to 1.66v, it won't hurt it any.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 03-26-2011, 12:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Overclocking... need help!

So that stabilized it, and I'm working on 158 BCLK. One weird thing I've noticed is that the lag time between when I hit return during the login to Windows, and the time the screen comes up, has gone from pretty close to instantaneous to hanging (maybe not the best word, as it does resolve itself) for three or four seconds (it has "Welcome" and the spinning access disc). Is some part of my computer not catching up to the other?
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 03-26-2011, 09:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Overclocking... need help!

Do a system cleanup (temp files, temp internet files, etc...) and empty the recycle bin to force the TRIM command.

Have you went through the SSD Tweak Guide.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking The 940BE & some q's about overclocking DarksideShuffle Overclocking and Modding 3 07-28-2010 08:37 PM
HD 3850 overclocking and Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 overclocking help! Pepsiboy700 Overclocking and Modding 13 12-02-2007 11:16 PM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
overclocking andrewsvalesen Overclocking and Modding 14 11-21-2006 04:05 PM
Sorry need help overclocking forscythe Overclocking and Modding 1 09-17-2006 07:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.