Overclocking my x2 6400+ - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2007, 05:11 PM   #11 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Overclocking my x2 6400+

wooo dogeee my 4200 would get really...i mean like, really...hot anything over 1.6V.
25C is a good idle temp though, i notch up the voltage a tad and see what happens. watch that temp under load.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-14-2007, 10:00 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Overclocking my x2 6400+

I like my watercooling.

I can push my 6000+ to 1.725V; at 100% load, core #0 won't break 50ºC, and core #1 will be in the low 40's (according to Core Temp)

but so far I haven't been able to run 3dmark06 at 3.5GHZ yet. Might need to burn in a bit longer.
it's done a full run at 3465MHZ though (and I broke 12K! CPU score: 2639)

It's fully prime95 stable at 1.575V, 3.4GHZ

*edit*
I've also got it prime95 stable at 3465MHZ, 1.625V
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 12:52 AM   #13 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Overclocking my x2 6400+

what setup do you have?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 04:41 AM   #14 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: Overclocking my x2 6400+

So it doesn't matter how high i raise the voltage right, as long as the temps are okay?
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 06:53 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Overclocking my x2 6400+

Quote:
Originally Posted by BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL View Post
So it doesn't matter how high i raise the voltage right, as long as the temps are okay?
well, yes, it does. If you put the voltage too high, there's a chance it could damage something. Even if the temperatures are fine.

I think my CPU can go further than 1.725V without overheating, but I am weary of pushing it even that far.

*edit*
Whenever I increase the core voltage past about 1.6V, I always increase the HTT CPU <-> SPP voltage, to prevent there from being too much voltage difference between the CPU and HTT bus
if there is too much difference in the voltages, I think it can damage the memory controller (which is on the CPU die, in AMD's case).
Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
what setup do you have?
Case layout

Swiftech MCP655
Swiftech Apogee GT with AM2 plate
Thermochill PA120.3 radiator, with 3 x 120mm fans (1200RPM)
AC Ryan 120.3 Rad Grill
Danger Den fillport
Clearflex tubing (1/2" ID)

probably spent over $500 AUD on it.
That's not including the case, which I picked and modded specifically for the gear I have (and cost me about $350 AUD, plus about $50 for the perspex, and about $50 for the eight 120mm fans)

But IMO, the result is priceless.
And I can still use the case and water cooling kit for future hardware
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 01:14 PM   #16 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: Overclocking my x2 6400+

ok so in increased voltages, but didn't touch the overclocking speeds, and now it can run prime 95 stable with no errors. I ran it for about 4 hours last night though. Now my main concern though is what you said apokolipse. I just dont want to increase the voltages too high. But the settings on my motherboard its weird, no matter where i set the voltages to, it always goes a little above it. For example, right now i have it set to 1.55v, but in cpu id and my monitor it says the voltage is like 1.65v. So basically what voltage is the max i shouldn't try to pass. I think i might be able to get 3.6ghz with 1.65v. if i lower my ram and htt. Here's my recent screen shot:

http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d9...7/voltages.jpg
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 01:18 PM   #17 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: Overclocking my x2 6400+

Also my bios has settings for my ram voltage and my chipset voltage, what does the chipset voltage do?
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 11:08 PM   #18 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: Overclocking my x2 6400+

ok so i have it at 3.5ghz, and its at 1.65v, this is the farthest i can really get, but prime 95 still has it unstable, and i dont know if i want to raise the voltage to over 1.7v just to keep it stable at 3.5ghz, so i think im just going to leave it stable at 3.45ghz at 1.6v
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 11:32 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Overclocking my x2 6400+

My 6000+ can get to 3465MHZ prime95 stable at about 1.575V, but it also doesn't seem to want to stay 100% stable at 3.5GHZ

What I'm going to do is try burning-in the CPU for a while, to see if I can at least do a run of 3dmark06 at 3.5GHZ
Basically, that means undervolting it, and running it at 100% load for hours.

I've been able to get the thing running at 3060MHZ, at 1.2V stable in prime95
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 11:49 PM   #20 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Overclocking my x2 6400+

i was able to get 3.6ghz on my 4000+ but mine's a brisbane. i've got a afp64 and the thing never touches above 45C and the voltage was i believe 1.32ish.

^^It was stable, prime95 + 3dmark06
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Overclocking geforce 8 series? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 48 10-12-2007 02:25 PM
Overclocking my new AM2 6000+ Lord Lihp Overclocking and Modding 16 08-18-2007 10:37 AM
I want to know about Overclocking for New Computer bbcrew Overclocking and Modding 3 05-10-2007 12:10 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.