Overclocking my x1950pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2007, 10:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to iNternal
Default Overclocking my x1950pro

I recently just picked up a x1950pro 256mb video card and was looking into overclocking it. I have never overclocked a video card before and I was wondering how high I should overclock it. I can list my specs if needed.
__________________

iNternal is offline  
Old 03-14-2007, 09:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Overclocking my x1950pro

you can overclock as far as it will go without causing you issues i.e lock ups and artifacts. you can't really damage a card by overclocking, at least not without putting in some major effort to do so . download ATITool and give it a shot. you want to adjust the sliders on the right hand side only ("3D Performance"). my suggestion is do the memory and the GPU overclocking seperately so you can tell which one is causing any issues. work it up the GPU's slider carefully in say 5-10MHz increments, hit set clock and scan for artifacts. once you've found the highest speed it will go to without artifacts in ATITool you will probably have to back down about 10-20MHz from there for it to be stable in games. once you've found the highest the GPU will clock to keep it at that level and start overclocking the memory and scanning for artifacts.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-15-2007, 08:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to iNternal
Default Re: Overclocking my x1950pro

I really appreciate your help. Just one last question. When I am scanning for artifacts how long should I let it scan before raising the GPU up 10 mhz
iNternal is offline  
Old 03-15-2007, 10:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Overclocking my x1950pro

just give it 30 seconds or so for the first 100MHz (not sure about the overclockability of the x1950pro). then start giving it a few minutes for each scan. when you think you've found the highest stable speed give it a nice long run of perhaps an hour or so. there really isn't a set method to overclocking, once you've learned the basics and become comfortable with it you'll develop your own personal technique.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 08:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Overclocking my x1950pro

check online, most ppl post norm specs and oc'ing specs and u have a safe oc, if they have the same video cooling, and same original clock speed
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-23-2007, 08:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Overclocking my x1950pro

though i heard the x1950 is not that overclocking friendly. The similar priced product to x1950 Pro i think is 7900GS from nvidia and it runs fairly cool.
darksideleader is offline  
Old 03-24-2007, 03:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Overclocking my x1950pro

The X1950PRO doesn't overclock well at all. The 7900GS however which is a few bucks cheaper OC's like a crazy card lmao.

The X1950PRO will overclock a bit but it's still quite fast enough without overclocking it. It's fine really.
Sora is offline  
Old 03-24-2007, 09:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Overclocking my x1950pro

which benchmarks better without oc'ing
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-24-2007, 10:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Overclocking my x1950pro

the 7900GS is pretty even with an X1950PRO after overclocking..and since the X1950PRO is a few bucks more you could go either way.
Sora is offline  
Old 03-25-2007, 07:55 AM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Overclocking my x1950pro

I'm sorry to be off topic, but I was wondering if the VF900, is compatible with the X1950PRO. On the compatibility list, it says X1900 series, and just wanted to make sure, this also means the X1950 series. I'm not really going to overclock the card. It's just that I heard about heating issues.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.