overclocking my q9300- help needed - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2009, 07:48 PM   #21 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: overclocking my q9300- help needed

highest i've got is 514MHz with enough stability to run SPi... that was with 1.48V on the core and 1.36 on the NB... i think that was limited by my memory (didnt wanna go much higher than 1050MHz @ 5-5-4-15)... dont think i'll buy new stuff tho... thinking of grabbing a 920 soon

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
mch frequency latch? what does that mean. i was just scrolling through the bios and i saw that. i will try a 2.000d strap.

cpu clock drive?
cpu and mch clock skew?
sorry for all the questions but it feels like i need a engineering degree to overclock this thing.
oh yeah, forgot to answer this... the Clock Skew refers the amount of offset there is on the cycling of the core and MCH relative to the clock generator (ie how much delay from the base clock each system has)... this setting can be very useful for getting better stability at high FSBs, especially for quads (so you'll wanna get comfortable with these options)... just leave the Driving options at default (i believe it should be 700mV on the core and 800mV on the MCH), as changing this without being absolutely sure what this does can cause you alot of trouble
__________________

__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 08:05 PM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: overclocking my q9300- help needed

how high do you run the clock skew. what fsb:ram ratio do you use? when i was playing with the clock skew i got it to 440 fsb but i dont think that was stable.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 04:54 AM   #23 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: overclocking my q9300- help needed

i was using a 1:1 divider and a 400MHz strap with 100ps on the MCH and 50ps on the core... try putting 100-200ps on your MCH and up to 100ps on the core to help you get stable at big FSB
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 08:00 PM   #24 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: overclocking my q9300- help needed

wow a 1:1 ratio i dont think my ram will do 1600mhz. remember i am on ddr3 stock speeds of 1333mhz. i'll try those settings.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI 9200SE vs. Linux... 95BlackGA Linux and Open Source 8 10-19-2008 01:05 AM
OVERCLOCKING NOT NEEDED special theory lawrephord100 Overclocking and Modding 4 02-09-2008 06:58 PM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.