Overclocking my PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2007, 12:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Overclocking my PC

Hey everybody, hopefully I can get some help.

I have:
2.13 ghz Dual Core (E6420)
DDR2 800 G Skill RAM (Stock @ 4-4-3-5)
Stock CPU Cooler
MSI P6N SLI mobo


-MSI has a utility called "Dual Core Center" that I have been trying to use to overclock.

When I try raising the FSB MhZ to around 300), the computer just freezes, and I have to hit my reset button. I have tried to set the voltages to around 1.3-1.5 range, but with no luck.

Is there and easy way to do this? I don't know anything about OC'ing, so any help would be appreciated.
__________________

motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 01:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Overclocking my PC

No no! motoxer! You get your SMP up and running yet? Well overclocking doesn't look so simple right now. When you raised it up to 300MHz and it shut down right away means your system is unstable. Have you disabled EIST and C1E? 2 important options you'll have to disable before you start your overclocking process.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 02:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: Overclocking my PC

I've been running SMP for over a month now...

And I don't think that stuff is disabled... I don't know where to go to find it :0
motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 02:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Overclocking my PC

Uh oh, that was bmxfreakrider that was asking me how to run SMP F@H. Lol, it should be in your Advanced Settings in your BIOS.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 02:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: Overclocking my PC

ive seen the eist but i dunno about the other one...


Ok, so if i get those disabled, whats the next step?
motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 02:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Overclocking my PC

You don't see C1E? Look around and find it.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 03:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: Overclocking my PC

Ok, then what? After I disable them I mean.
motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 03:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Overclocking my PC

Alright, Enable your Overclocking function and change your FSB from 266 to 277. Is your multiplier x0.8?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 03:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: Overclocking my PC

Here's a SS of my BIOS:



What should be changed??
motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 03:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Overclocking my PC

I think Spread Spectrum was suppose to be Disabled. What's your VCore right now? It doesn't seem to list it up on your BIOS screen shot.

1066/4x8=2.132. Alright so your FSB right now is 266? UP it to 277 and run Orthos for 8 hours or more for the best results.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Overclocking questions 101 lafguy81 Overclocking and Modding 29 10-23-2007 10:44 AM
Overclocking my new AM2 6000+ Lord Lihp Overclocking and Modding 16 08-18-2007 10:37 AM
ASUS Announces Hardware Based Real-time Overclocking Device Osiris Overclocking and Modding 2 07-06-2007 11:44 AM
I want to know about Overclocking for New Computer bbcrew Overclocking and Modding 3 05-10-2007 12:10 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.