Overclocking my new rig. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2008, 08:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Toryn's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 170
Default Overclocking my new rig.

So I've finally got everything sorted, my first build and I've been at it for about 7hrs

Thats installing everything twice (forgot the thermalright ultra 120 mounting bit needs to go under the mobo *first*) and installing, patching sorting out sound and myriad drivers.

And now, I want to OC

Unfortunately I've never done it before, and I tried earlier but got worried that I'd done something wrong and reset it to defaults .

Basically can anyone help me with everything I need to know to overclock my Q6600 (on a gigabyte P35C DS3R if that helps) and my 8800GTS 512MB. From what programmes needed to what I need to turn off in the bios.

A lot I know, but I wanna make sure I dont do something monumentally stupid, again.

Thanks in advance, and if I'm slow in replying its because I walking around in an oblivion gate gawping.

Toryn is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 09:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
b1gapl's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Overclocking my new rig.

You want to first, disable the C1E and EIST function in the Advanced BIOS features. This disables the power saving features, from lowering your CPU's speed, when idling.

You should also disable any devices on the motherboard, that won't be in use. Such as the floppy drive, serial, and/or parallel ports. You can disable the floppy in the Standard CMOS Features. And you can disable the serial and parallel ports in the Integrated Peripherals menu.

Then go to the M.I.T. Set the System Memory Multiplier to 2.00. This will set the memory and the FSB to run at the same speed for a 1:1 ratio, just to make this overclocking easy and basic.

Enable the CPU Host Clock Control, to change the CPU Host frequency. This is the FSB. So you increase it by 10+. Usually increases the CPU's speed by 100MHz or so.

As for the voltages, set the DDR2 Overvoltage to manufacturer's spec. The standard voltage that the DS3R sets to, is 1.8v. And the BIOS gives options for +0.1, +0.2, +0.3, etc...So for example, if the manufacturer's spec for your RAM is 2.2v, you set the DDR2 Overvoltage to +0.4v (1.8 + 0.4 = 2.2).

Then you can just leave the other voltages alone, until you need to increase them. This is where the stability test comes in. For testing the stability on quad cores, I would recommend you stress with Prime95, or be a good techie, and fold for our folding team, using the SMP client.

A good indication of the overclock being stable, is around the 8 hour mark. So it would be best if you can stress overnight, while you sleep, or when you're at work or school during the day. Once it proves stable, increase the FSB or CPU Host frequency by 10+.

During the stress test, if the program or the computer, were to freeze or restart....this is when you should increase the voltages. Specifically the CPU voltage. Increase this by one notch, or until the CPU proves stable. Once you get past the 3GHz mark, I would suggest increasing both the MCH Chipset voltage, and the FSB voltage to +0.1v, for added stability.

You should also set the Performance to standard instead of turbo, to help with stability.

Some might say, to skip the baby stepping of increasing little by little each time. That's fine. But this is the way I overclock, or if I was guiding someone new at this.

Anymore questions, feel free to ask.

For some reason, I feel like I've told you this guide before.



b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 09:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Toryn's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 170
Default Re: Overclocking my new rig.

I've probably asked before, but as long as neither of us really remember, it's fine right?

I just like to make sure everything is set out in my mind, especially when I can't login and ask someone while I'm looking at the bios.

But thanks (again?) and I'll be sure to run SMP to make up for it, might aswell do something with it when I'm asleep anyway as its always on ^^.

*edit* with everything at stock, I hit 12004 in 3dmark06. Not bad I'd say.
Toryn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 05:35 PM
Question on Overclocking KCRMYZ Overclocking and Modding 9 01-05-2008 04:10 AM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 06:24 PM
Overclocking geforce 8 series? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 48 10-12-2007 01:25 PM
Overclocking my new AM2 6000+ Lord Lihp Overclocking and Modding 16 08-18-2007 09:37 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.