Overclocking my new E8400 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2008, 02:11 AM   #11 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
BongWizard's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Overclocking my new E8400

pump the voltage!! stick it up to around 1.45V and see how far you can go on that... once you hit the limit, up it some more (or stop... lol yeah, right!!) or when you hit your desired clock (you wont be able to comfortably do more the 4.3GHz 24/7 from my experience) just keep it and drop your voltage one or 2 steps at a time until you get unstable.. make sure you keep an eye on those temps tho


NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro

Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 08:08 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
dhgunit's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 690
Default Re: Overclocking my new E8400

LOL, stock voltage at 4Ghz.....I'll stick with that.

Antec Twelve Hundred :: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Watt :: EVGA X58 3X SLI
Intel Core i7 920 :: Zalman CNPS9900LED :: SLI: EVGA GTX 260 Core 192 SSC 896MB and EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896MB
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 :: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB (2x1TB in RAID0) :: Hanns G 28" LCD Monitor

dhgunit is offline  
Old 11-13-2008, 03:16 AM   #13 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
Hussein19891's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Overclocking my new E8400

I need like 1.45 CPU Core in order to keep 3.1ghz stable. The Phenom I get will definitely be Black Edition cause I m tired of messing with the ram speeds and the fsb lol.


Hussein19891 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buying 800 ram and O/C or 1066 Jtumble2 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 09-26-2008 12:23 AM
Intel Nehalem to allow overclocking, some processors will even encourage it maroon1 New Technology and Products 10 06-15-2008 05:15 PM
E8400 overclocking braz Overclocking and Modding 2 02-16-2008 02:08 PM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 06:24 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.