Overclocking my new E6300 system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2007, 03:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Default Overclocking my new E6300 system

Hey guys, I'm new to all this computer building/overclocking deal... just wanting a few tips.

I've just put together a new system:

Intel E6300
MSI P965 Neo
2 GIG of generic DDR2-667 RAM
GeForce 7900GS
Samsung SATA 7200rpm

It's up and running and everything looks good, but I was just looking at the MSI Core Center and the overclocking options available there and thought I might find out some info about it, like:

- is it worth using Core Center to overclock my system?
- could I damage my system by overclocking using Core Center?
- is there a better way to go about it?

If I have to buy extra cooling systems or anything like that, I wont bother. But if there's an easy and safe enough way to overclock, I figure why not ey?

Cheers,
Ben
__________________

Narpstar is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 12:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 119
Default

There are several good articles on it and unfortunately I cannot link to them right now(I'm at work). But will post a reply with links later. The RAM is gonna limit potential drastically.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6300 @3.00 Ghz
Asus P5B-E
Antec Nine Hundred
HiPer 580 PSU
evga 8800 GTS 320 MB
G. Skill 2 GB DDR2 860
Seagate 250 GB sata 2 HD
Chimei 22\" Widescreen LCD
leje0306 is offline  
Old 03-08-2007, 01:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by leje0306
There are several good articles on it and unfortunately I cannot link to them right now(I'm at work). But will post a reply with links later. The RAM is gonna limit potential drastically.
It's not going to limit him at all, in his post he said if he has to buy extra cooling he wont bother, so he wont max his RAM's capability before he would need an aftermarket HSF.

Narpstar, you won't hurt your system using that program. Since you don't see to know that much about overclocking, I wouldn't suggest doing it in the BIOS, so core center is the way to go for you. I would say you can get your e6300 up to 2.3 safely. If your system locks up when you're overclocking, dont worry, it just didnt like the settings and you can restart and everything is normal. Just make sure you raise your RAM's voltage by .1 or .2 before overclocking for good measure. I have stock cooling on mine and can get up to 2.3, so I feel you can do the same if not more.
__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.