Overclocking my i5 750 again... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2011, 06:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,581
Default Overclocking my i5 750 again...

I'm kind of a newb to overclocking and in the past I've increased the FSB and set everything else to auto. From what I understand the best thing to do is to lower the CPU multiplier and find the highest possible FSB speed then increase the CPU multiplier as high as it can go. I'd also like to know what safe voltages are for my CPU/MoBo. My Specs are in my sig.

Thanks in advance
__________________

__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 01-24-2011, 07:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Overclocking my i5 750 again...

Go here and follow the same steps, you'll need to use the memory latencies for your memory. Post the settings you use along with the screenshots.

Novice OCer
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-24-2011, 08:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,581
Default Re: Overclocking my i5 750 again...

I used the settings that you suggested in your first post in that thread. Ran Intel Burn Test and got an error. I did drop the RAM down to 1.2v rather than 1.3v because you said in that post that because he has more RAM he will require more voltage. I also noticed that you suggested for him to change his RAM timings because he couldn't get his RAM down to 1066 and I'm having the same issue. My RAM is different than his so I'm not sure what to do.

here is a screenshot I took:
__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 01-24-2011, 09:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 312
Default Re: Overclocking my i5 750 again...

I spent countless hours overclocking my i5 760 and I can tell you that if you're getting an error that quickly, you need to raise your Vcore. I would not suggest that because your temps are already pretty high and you've only been through 2 runs of burn test. If you get errors after ten minutes, which would be about 8 runs for your settings in the SS, then you have to raise your Vtt/IMC volts. Raise only one voltage at a time so you know which stabilized it. Always increase/decrease the voltages in the smallest increment possible.

Your RAM is set to 1200 MHz. You want this at 1600 for sure. With a FSB of 200, I'm not sure why it's not at 1600. I'll go check my BIOS settings....
Edit: Okay, there should be an option: DRAM Frequency - Manually set this to DDR3-1600. To lower your CPU clock and maintain your RAM clock at the same time, lower your CPU ratio.
My settings look like this:
BCLK: 200
CPU Ratio: 19
DRAM Freq: 1600

This gives me 3.8 GHz + 1600 MHz.

I was able to achieve 3.8 GHz with 1.26250 Vcore and 1.22 Vtt/IMC. My temps hit 72*C MAX after 50 runs of maximum stress of intel burn test. My chip just can't hit 4.0 GHz until I set the Vcore to 1.31875 and that causes my temps to hit the low 80s. I would suggest staying under 75*C at the absolute max during intel burn test for a 24/7 OC.

Feel free to ask any questions because I was clueless before I started too!
__________________
Antec 300
MSi P67A-C43
Intel Core i5-2500k
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Corsair Vengeance 8 GB (DDR3 1600) Ram
Seagate Barracuda 1TB
eVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1GB SC
Acer G235H 23" LCD (1920x1080)
Corsair TX750
Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Skiller. is offline  
Old 01-25-2011, 07:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Overclocking my i5 750 again...

Use LinX instead of Intel Burn Test.

I like Realtemp myself, but it isn't showing me any voltages. Use HWMonitor for this project.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-25-2011, 08:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 312
Default Re: Overclocking my i5 750 again...

For me, HWMonitor showed me nothing but the HDD temp...Not sure why...
__________________
Antec 300
MSi P67A-C43
Intel Core i5-2500k
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Corsair Vengeance 8 GB (DDR3 1600) Ram
Seagate Barracuda 1TB
eVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1GB SC
Acer G235H 23" LCD (1920x1080)
Corsair TX750
Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Skiller. is offline  
Old 01-25-2011, 01:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,581
Default Re: Overclocking my i5 750 again...

I tried running LinX but I'm still getting errors.

__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 01-25-2011, 02:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Overclocking my i5 750 again...

Hello, 35g700!

I am running my RAM at 1600.
CPU Ratio: 20
CPU Voltage: 1.29375
IMC: 1.22

But, it all depends on your board.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-25-2011, 06:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Overclocking my i5 750 again...

The Windows Task Manager screen means nothing, we need to see the cpu-z screens - cpu, memory, spd, mainboard.

Speaking of the mainboard, exactly what motherboard are you using. I can only give you the most basic advise right now. If I knew what mobo your using I could download the manual and see most of the bios options you have available.

If LinX is failing in the 1st minute or two you probably need to raise the CPU Vcore Voltage. Your at 1.3125v right now, according to cpu-z & HWMonitor. Raise this up to 1.325v and make sure Load-Line Calibration is enabled.

And your ram speed is only at 1204 MHz instead of 1600 MHz. You need to change the DRAM Frequency Setting up one notch higher than it is already. And set the IMC Voltage to 1.3 volts to start with. We can start lowering voltages after we get it running.

And post a link to the exact memory kit you bought.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-25-2011, 09:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,581
Default Re: Overclocking my i5 750 again...

Alright, I'll try that.


Memory: Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL7D-4GBRM

Mainboard: Newegg.com - ASUS P7P55D-E LX LGA 1156 Intel P55 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Thanks for the help so far by the way.

EDIT:

Just ran 20 passes of LinX with increased voltages and RAM at 1600. Temps did get up to 75C which kind of worries me because right now its cold here, and it will get hotter later on. I will be getting some Tuniq TX-2 soon so that should cut temps by a slight bit.

I'm gonna run LinX overnight and see what happens.

EDIT2:

After starting another run of LinX I got another error...

__________________

__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking The 940BE & some q's about overclocking DarksideShuffle Overclocking and Modding 3 07-28-2010 07:37 PM
HD 3850 overclocking and Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 overclocking help! Pepsiboy700 Overclocking and Modding 13 12-02-2007 10:16 PM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 06:24 PM
overclocking andrewsvalesen Overclocking and Modding 14 11-21-2006 03:05 PM
Overclocking a P4 3.0 timmer Overclocking and Modding 11 01-17-2005 06:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.