Overclocking with my board... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2006, 02:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default Overclocking with my board...

Okay, I'm gonna start overclocking this thing. I know I didn't pick the best board with the money I had, but I'm gonna' have to live with it.

So the board has no PCI lock. Other than that, it has enough options for decent overclocking, I guess. Voltage controls, FSB control, HT control, memory control...

I know one instance with some guy using the exact same board overclocking his 64 3000+ to a 21% increase. So my goal is going to be 20%...


So with my own attempt (keep in mind, I suck at overclocking modern systems), I set my PC2100 DDR back to 200MHz instead of 266, so I won't run into memory related problems... I also upped the voltage of the CPU 5% (There are settings for up to 15%?).

I then used EasyTune5, got the overclock to 13%, where the system automatically rebooted. I think the guy referred to changing the HT, but I'm not quite sure what this does, or what to set it on (default is 1000MHz)

Anyone know what I can do to overclock more? Up the voltage? Change HT settings?
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 08:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Change the HT multiplier to 4x from 5x and try that. If there is no PCI lock then that's probably whats kicking you in the ***.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 10:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Do all MSI boards have PCI lock? I might be able to get one in the near future, if they're that good for overclocking.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 12:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Ok, dropped HT to 800MHz, and so far, I've got a pretty stable overclock @ 2.6 GHz, which is pretty much my 20% overclocking goal.


EDIT: **** nevermind. It locked up during SuperPi for 1M. I'm going to up the voltage 5% and see if that helps.


EDIT AGAIN: Okay, upping the voltage worked! SuperPi on 1M went from 58 seconds stock, to 47 seconds OC'd.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 12:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

WoOtAgE. I figured it out. WIth no AGP lock, my video card kept crapping out at full speed. So I set AGP to 4x from 8x, and now everything works perfectly at 2.61GHz.

I might even be able to overclock more, but I'm going to save that for when I get my two 1GB sticks of Geil DDR400.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.