overclocking my AM2 X2 4200 Windsor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2006, 09:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default overclocking my AM2 X2 4200 Windsor

How much could i overclock my AM2 X2 4200 (Windsor)?

i've got the Zalman CNPS9500 heatsink (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835118223)

also i've got Artic Silver 5 on my CPU.

running on a Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe MOBO w/ 2 GB Corsair XMS PC6400/DDR2 800 RAM how far do you think i could overclock this w/ 100% stability.

This will mark as my first overclocking experience so i'm very cautious about this. i was previously looking into getting a X2 3800 Manchester and heard people getting close to 2.8 Ghz w/o water cooling.

I can only assume that the 4200 can do around 3 Ghz w/o water cooling and that's my current expectation (though i'll only go to 2.8 for a while and then if i need/want overclock more)

*my computer is in my sig for any other questions*
__________________

__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 11:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

i could only get mine to 2.8 for a while, and it wasnt totally stable, so 2.75 was perfect. that was at a little less than 1.59 volts too, all on air(golden orb)
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 12:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by R1C0CH3T
i could only get mine to 2.8 for a while, and it wasnt totally stable, so 2.75 was perfect. that was at a little less than 1.59 volts too, all on air(golden orb)
really? i guess i overestimated it a little. BTW what does golden orb mean? is that ur heatsink or what? thanks by the way. that helps.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 12:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

http://www.cdrinfo.com/Sections/Revi...rticleId=14499

yes its a cpu heatsink, its pretty big and is awesome and blue. i love it to death.
__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 10:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

It depends on the CPU. Some can OC higher than others. Many can get to 2.9 on air.
turtile is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 10:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Not only it depends on the CPU and the cooling solution, you need to have a good ram to keep up with the CPU's FSB, or in youre case [AMD x2's] the CPU's HTT's speed.

With a good, high speed & low latencies RAM [like, Mushkin XP2-6400 or Team Xtreeme RAM DDR 1066Mhz etc] you can reach 2.9, and even pass the 3GHz barrier and be pretty stable...

-Jo.
Yoad is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 12:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Yoad
Not only it depends on the CPU and the cooling solution, you need to have a good ram to keep up with the CPU's FSB, or in youre case [AMD x2's] the CPU's HTT's speed.

With a good, high speed & low latencies RAM [like, Mushkin XP2-6400 or Team Xtreeme RAM DDR 1066Mhz etc] you can reach 2.9, and even pass the 3GHz barrier and be pretty stable...

-Jo.
i've got "2 GB Corsair XMS PC6400/DDR2 800" for RAM the latency is either 5-5-5-15 or 5-5-5-12. i'm not sure which one.

would that be good? i know that when i was looking for RAM at newegg the lowest latency i found for DDR2-800 was 4-4-4-something.

thanks
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 01:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

the Mushkin ones are very good, the Corsair XMS 2 are also very good overclockers, but only the #4 cas latencies, the #5 cas latencies won't do so good because even at their native speed their latencies are as loosen up as it can be [unless you wish to run a computer with 5-7-7-24[or 30] cas latencies lol...]

But you can give it a shot it might just work well..... .

I just recived my Corsair XMS2 Twin2X2046-6400C4 [4-4-4-12] and I will be putting it in a similar rig, i'll tell you how well it overclocked once its all here[Will take a while though, that computer will only be up and running in August 25'th+]

-Jo.
Yoad is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 06:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Yoad
the Mushkin ones are very good, the Corsair XMS 2 are also very good overclockers, but only the #4 cas latencies, the #5 cas latencies won't do so good because even at their native speed their latencies are as loosen up as it can be [unless you wish to run a computer with 5-7-7-24[or 30] cas latencies lol...]

But you can give it a shot it might just work well..... .

I just recived my Corsair XMS2 Twin2X2046-6400C4 [4-4-4-12] and I will be putting it in a similar rig, i'll tell you how well it overclocked once its all here[Will take a while though, that computer will only be up and running in August 25'th+]

-Jo.
alright thanks, yeah that'd be good to know if it works for you. and also thanks for the latency info.
__________________

__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.