Overclocking my 9500 GT

Status
Not open for further replies.

xxxGangrelxxx

Solid State Member
Hi, I've never done overclocking before, and while I've watched some tutorials on Youtube, I wanted something tailored to my system.

Specs: (as my computer displays them in System)

Windows 7

Processor: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU - E1200 @ 1.60GHz 1.60 GHz

(RAM): 4.00 GB (3.25GB usable)

System: 32-bit

Also, I'm not sure if this is relevant but it's a Compaq Presario SR5520AN Desktop.

All I'd really like to know is how to overclock my graphics card and get the most from my system when I'm running games.

I'll be playing Battlefield Bad Company 2, as well as Left for Dead 1 & 2.

I'd like a good gain to performance, without risk to my PC, as I don't have the cash for any repairs, but I find my Frame Rate pretty bad in most games for some strange reason.

Thanks in advance, please let me know if you need to know anything else.

Use evga precision.
|MG| EVGA Precision 2.0.3 Download

AS YOU HAVE A PREBUILT, TEmPS ARE GONNA BE, oops, a concern.

I usually oc a gpu by finding the max sold oc, and start there. Bump it up 20mhz, test with furmark or 3dvantage, or 3dmark06. Then repeat till it crashes or you see oddness on the screen.

If you want to max your oc, once you get issues, back it off by abit then go up smaller bits. then once it goes wonky, do each seperately...

Hey bro, you have an ovetclocking program like that for ati cards? Or can it only be oc so much using catalyst control center? Didn't wanna masks A new thread for that lol

I've recently overclocked, and my settings are now:

Core: 738 MHz

Shader: 1811 MHz

Memory: 461 MHz

Fan Speed: 100

I used Riva Tuner, and it all seems to be working fine. I got a couple artifacts at one stage, but backed it off, and it seems fine now.