overclocking my 6800 SLI - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2006, 05:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 103
Default overclocking my 6800 SLI

umm are these going to make a difference??




coreclock to 325


600 memory clock


my card sits at 50 degrees playing COD2 at max


so my alarms are set for 125 degrees

any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
<p><font size=\"1\" color=\"#0000FF\"><b>Pentium® 4 Processor 640 with HT Technology (3.20GHz, 800 FSB)<br>
1GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 553MHz<br>
19 inch Ultrasharp™ 1905FP Digital Flat Panel<br>
250GB Serial ATA Hard Drive (7200RPM)<br>
256MB PCI Express™ x16 (DVI/VGA/TV-out) nVidia GeForce 6800 w/SLI<br>
Dual Drives: 16x DVD-ROM Drive + 16x DVD+/-RW w/ dbl layer write capable</b></font></p>
snipez is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 06:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

did you really put those in SLI, or are you just saying that it has SLI capability?

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 03:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 103
Default

SLI capability
yea, I only Have 1 card for now

I just ran the 3dmark2005 3820, lol
__________________
<p><font size=\"1\" color=\"#0000FF\"><b>Pentium® 4 Processor 640 with HT Technology (3.20GHz, 800 FSB)<br>
1GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 553MHz<br>
19 inch Ultrasharp™ 1905FP Digital Flat Panel<br>
250GB Serial ATA Hard Drive (7200RPM)<br>
256MB PCI Express™ x16 (DVI/VGA/TV-out) nVidia GeForce 6800 w/SLI<br>
Dual Drives: 16x DVD-ROM Drive + 16x DVD+/-RW w/ dbl layer write capable</b></font></p>
snipez is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 03:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 129
Default

6800 vanilla? should have gone for gs or gt.
filocardhustler is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 04:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

any overclock should make an inprovement, unless you overclock too far..
sometimes if you overclock too far it will overheat, and performance will drop
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 04:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 103
Default

umm yea update


I overclocked it .....played COD2..lol

sscreen was meeeeeeeeeeeeessssed up.....
__________________
<p><font size=\"1\" color=\"#0000FF\"><b>Pentium® 4 Processor 640 with HT Technology (3.20GHz, 800 FSB)<br>
1GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 553MHz<br>
19 inch Ultrasharp™ 1905FP Digital Flat Panel<br>
250GB Serial ATA Hard Drive (7200RPM)<br>
256MB PCI Express™ x16 (DVI/VGA/TV-out) nVidia GeForce 6800 w/SLI<br>
Dual Drives: 16x DVD-ROM Drive + 16x DVD+/-RW w/ dbl layer write capable</b></font></p>
snipez is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 04:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 129
Default

perhaps you just pushed the card too far, don't push the boundaries too far or something like that will definately happen.
filocardhustler is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 04:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yes, overclocking too far causes artifacts.
have you got the stock cooler?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 04:36 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 103
Default

yea....

I have a 125 degree alarm on it....

but I used nvidia reccomended setting, I used AUTO DETECT.....

great utilty nvidia...
__________________
<p><font size=\"1\" color=\"#0000FF\"><b>Pentium® 4 Processor 640 with HT Technology (3.20GHz, 800 FSB)<br>
1GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 553MHz<br>
19 inch Ultrasharp™ 1905FP Digital Flat Panel<br>
250GB Serial ATA Hard Drive (7200RPM)<br>
256MB PCI Express™ x16 (DVI/VGA/TV-out) nVidia GeForce 6800 w/SLI<br>
Dual Drives: 16x DVD-ROM Drive + 16x DVD+/-RW w/ dbl layer write capable</b></font></p>
snipez is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 04:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 129
Default

your better off overclocking sensibly than relying on program to tell you if your running too hot, try overclock it a bit less and see if you get any defects when you run, also try to maximise cooling by tidying cables or removing the side panel on your case for ventilation, if you plan on doing any serious overclock get yourself a GPU heatsink.
__________________

filocardhustler is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.