overclocking my 4200+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2007, 10:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hickfarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 357
Send a message via AIM to hickfarm Send a message via MSN to hickfarm
Default overclocking my 4200+

Alright i have read reviews that say my cpu can reach 2.7ghz easily without a voltage change.

here is the review. Legit Reviews - Overclocking the AMD A64 4200+ AM2 Processor - What Can $184 Get You?

Here is my proc. but it is the 1.35 volt one. Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Windsor 2.2GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 89W Processor - Retail

Here is my motherboard.
Newegg.com - Open Box: DFI INFINITY NF ULTRAII-M2 AM2 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard

and the ram
Newegg.com - OCZ Platinum Revision 2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

I have a zalman 9700, and an Antec 550 psu.

I have put a divider on my memory and have kept the multiplier at 11x for the fsb

I changed the other multiplier to 4x like the one in legitreview.com review on cpu.

Anyways it seems i can't get past 2.45 ghz cause ortho keeps crashing on it and at 2.5 windows won't even boot. So if you have any idea what i an doing wrong it would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 5000+ BE Zalman 9700
OCZ 700 watt Power Supply
2x1 gig OCZ 800mhz dual channel ram
Custom John Deere
DFI Infinity NF UlTRAII-M2 motherboard
20" Benq Monitor
320 gig Seagate hard drive, 1000gig internal Western Digital, 500gig MyBook
My John Deere Case==> http://hickfarm.com/blog/?cat=7
hickfarm is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 01:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hickfarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 357
Send a message via AIM to hickfarm Send a message via MSN to hickfarm
Default Re: overclocking my 4200+

Anyone have any ideas?
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 5000+ BE Zalman 9700
OCZ 700 watt Power Supply
2x1 gig OCZ 800mhz dual channel ram
Custom John Deere
DFI Infinity NF UlTRAII-M2 motherboard
20" Benq Monitor
320 gig Seagate hard drive, 1000gig internal Western Digital, 500gig MyBook
My John Deere Case==> http://hickfarm.com/blog/?cat=7
hickfarm is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 05:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: overclocking my 4200+

what voltage do you have on your ram? Is it underclocked?
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 06:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: overclocking my 4200+

i have that same cpu and it wont reach that high with stock voltage. with the zalman you should be fine up to about 1.5ish. just watch the temps.

also, try lowering the HT multiplier to 3x.
also, if you didnt lower your ram speed it is probably overclocked too much. try setting it to ddr2 667, or set it to ddr2 533 and max your cpu clock. then you can try to raise the ram back up. at 2.7 you should be able to run it at ddr2 667, and it will be overclocked a little.
but for cpu max oc, lower it to 533 and see how high you can get your chip.
my 4200 will go to about 2.9ghz
theres no way it is going to be stable at 2.7 with stock voltage IMO.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 08:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hickfarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 357
Send a message via AIM to hickfarm Send a message via MSN to hickfarm
Default Re: overclocking my 4200+

My ram is underclocked a ways. Also i have set to stock voltage at 2.1

what board do you have nagasama. 1.5ish maximum volts is good to know. also my board says it is recommended to have 667. Will this affect it much to have 800 ram in it. Cause the bios has the option for 800mhz stock. I will try raising the voltages some and see how that makes a difference.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 5000+ BE Zalman 9700
OCZ 700 watt Power Supply
2x1 gig OCZ 800mhz dual channel ram
Custom John Deere
DFI Infinity NF UlTRAII-M2 motherboard
20" Benq Monitor
320 gig Seagate hard drive, 1000gig internal Western Digital, 500gig MyBook
My John Deere Case==> http://hickfarm.com/blog/?cat=7
hickfarm is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 08:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: overclocking my 4200+

i have a 590 SLI. i ran the 4200 in it for awhile, but mostly with it i used an ABIT kn9 ultra nf4.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 01:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: overclocking my 4200+

Leave your ram at ddr2 667 for now while you have the CPU overclocked. Be sure the Ram's voltage is at 1.8v

Like nagasama said, lower the HT multi. to 3x. Raise your voltage to like 1.37v or something.. And try for a higher clock. I have ran my cpu to 1.42 volts just fine on a zalman cnps 9700.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Overclocking questions 101 lafguy81 Overclocking and Modding 29 10-23-2007 10:44 AM
GPU Overclocking kevin2041 Overclocking and Modding 15 09-12-2007 05:26 PM
Overclocking my new AM2 6000+ Lord Lihp Overclocking and Modding 16 08-18-2007 10:37 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.