Overclocking Motherboard? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2009, 09:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default Overclocking Motherboard?

I'm running a Q9650 that I can't overclock past 3.5GHz no matter what I try... Maybe its because I'm bad at overclocking or maybe its something else.

CPU-Z does not give my chip a revision and the batch# is: L829A405 and the stepping is A
I recently read: "q9650 is a guaranteed E0 stepping, which for some people might be a benefit"
and reading more about stepping I have come to the conclusion that I may have one of the first versions...
that means I might have a bad chip I think



I got this CPU to try for 4Ghz as I heard most were capable of it. I kept increasing voltages and raising the FSB but I couldn't raise the FSB to 400 or higher at all. I left it at 375, as that was the last stable point i could reach.

I'm running a BIOSTAR T-Power i45 which has been tested to achieve around 600MHz FSB. This board should have no problem reaching 500MHz right?

Do I have a bad CPU or motherboard? I might sell the parts i have now soon and build a new core i7 system and if I do that, whats a good overclocking x58 motherboard?

also what PSU do you think I'll need? I have a 850W Rosewill it was cheap, so I go it. Will it stand up easily to 4GHz while powering say.. two gtx 260 c216 and water cooling?

Spec:
ram: ddr21100-pc8800 OCZ
cpu: q9650
cooling: watercooling
mb: biostar t-power i45
psu: rosewill 850w
__________________

StealthTools is offline  
Old 05-17-2009, 11:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Overclocking Motherboard?

You shouldn't be having any problems...have you been downclocking the RAM at all?
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-17-2009, 11:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Overclocking Motherboard?

Your watercooling? What equipment are you using?
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-17-2009, 12:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default Re: Overclocking Motherboard?

if you mean my watercooling equipment i have an apogee gtz and swiftech dual rad with 1/2" tubes... with the clock speed listed in the pic in my 1st post coretemp reads: 37 32 35 35 for all four cores.

as far as my ram i havent downclocked it.. i mostly let it sit at auto. I did set volts to 2.1v and 5 5 5 15 2t at 1066 to try and make it work like that.. should I set the ddr2-1100 to run at 800mhz or something? would that help?

i am rmaing the chip in hopes that I get a better one.. while i try and figure out how to overclock this one to see what i'm doing wrong because its probably me. my cpu doesn't have a revision and i think thats gota be bad.. I see lots of Stepping A revision E0 that are hitting over 4.5GHz o.o....
StealthTools is offline  
Old 05-17-2009, 12:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Overclocking Motherboard?

I find that upping the voltage on my RAM makes my higher overclocks iffy sometimes. I set my RAM down a few speeds (from 800mhz). I would set yours at 800 or 667 to start with, and leave the timings in auto. For your voltage, play around with it and see what works best...for me, it's generally 1.8v that works well.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-17-2009, 12:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default Re: Overclocking Motherboard?

Alright, I'll try overclocking one more time :| hopefully its not as painful as the other 4 times.. lol

I'll set my RAM as you have recommended and post back with results...
^^
400FSB and 3.6GHz stable... wow.. lets up the FSB some more.. i'm amazed i'm at 400FSB..
^^
Oook... the maximum I could boot to was: 3948.5GHz @ 438.7 FSB

I'm currently running at 3917.6GHz @ 435.3 FSB Everything seems stable.



I dropped the multi to 8 and tried to boot in at 450 FSB it failed. I recieved many blue screens like PAGE FAULT IN NONPAGE AREA and PCF LIST CORRUPT (not sure if it was "pcf".. lol)

maybe this is the max the processor can do.. My RAM is 876MHz I think at auto timings with the voltage at 2.1v
StealthTools is offline  
Old 05-17-2009, 01:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Overclocking Motherboard?

Try just overclocking the CPU alone. Try overclocking for max FSB. That way you know what your board can do. You should have done these things in the beginning so you have an idea of what/how your going to run 24/7 and/or what everything is capable of doing
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 05-18-2009, 04:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Default Re: Overclocking Motherboard?

make sure you check your 8 pin connection
chesirecat1701 is offline  
Old 05-18-2009, 08:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Overclocking Motherboard?

gotta be happy with 3.9ghz, now try work on your ram and try get it upwards of 900mhxz at CLk5 timings, you will benefit more from speed then timings.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

« OC Fail | 7850 kuma »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte Open Overclocking Competition 2009 office politics Overclocking and Modding 0 05-02-2009 06:11 PM
New to Overclocking, any help is awsome Whizkey Overclocking and Modding 0 12-10-2008 09:05 AM
Long Beeps at start up freak67 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 12-06-2007 06:08 PM
Replacing Motherboard, Help Needed Rask Vann New Systems | Building and Buying 9 11-15-2007 09:40 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.