OverClocking Made Computer Crash - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2005, 09:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default OverClocking Made Computer Crash

I hit 2.688ghz fine, then i was trying to hit 2.7ghz for the last time, then everything turned sour. It was half way stable. It would allow comands, then it wouldent. So i shut it down. When i try to boot up, it says this.

Windows could not start, becasue the following file is missing-
WINDOWS/SYSTEM/CONFIG/SYSTEM

My processor is fine, just windows is currupt. Anyway to fix this, without installing everything all over? Samething with Raid0?
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 09:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

you just couldnt help yourself huh?
__________________

phosho510 is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 09:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Well when you OC your computer, while fresh. Nothing bad happens unless your temps are high. Since theirs no cpu stress. So anyone know?
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 09:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

my experience is that thats to do with mem or mobo and that you need to wipe
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 09:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

I know man... it sucks.. I know im going to have to install everything all over, just seeing if anyone knows another way. I have a burned copy of windows. So i would have to wait intil saturday to fix it. Since my friend has it. Im just happy nothing it burned. My temps dident exceed 38 degees celcius.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 09:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

But isn't it true that when you install a new processor you should let the thermal compound settle for about 100-150 hours of usage before you start overclocking, especially that much? I don't know I'm a noob.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 09:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Depends on your temps. All that is for is to reduce your temps, but mine are good. Since i have a cooling system. So my temps are already good.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 11:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Windows corruption with heavy OC'ing is more common than you think man. I've had that exact message happen before. A Windows repair MIGHT work, but it didn't work for me...worth a try though
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 11:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Im just happy my hardware is alive lol.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.