Overclocking Intel Celeron D 336 2.8Ghz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2006, 03:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Overclocking Intel Celeron D 336 2.8Ghz

Hello,

My bro has a custom built system with the following specs:

- ASRock 775Dual-880Pro Motherboard
- Intel Celeron D 336 2.8Ghz Processor
- ATI Radeon 9200 128MB AGP Graphics Card
- 768MB PC2100 DDR RAM at 266MHz

His system runs cool at around 35°C so we'd thought we would try some overclocking.

Since the multiplier's locked, we slowly increased the FSB, starting from 133Mhz and raising it incrementally.

After a long while, we managed to get it stable at 3Ghz....a while after that, we managed to get to 3.2Ghz, eventually 3.3Ghz and each time running a variety of apps to test the system...

...but we ran into problems at 3.4Ghz. Checked the CPU temperature...had only risen by 4°C so temperature was okay. But whenever we tried booting into Windows XP we were confronted with an ATI VPU Recover warning message. The graphics driver would try and reload, but each time VPU Recover would kick in. Graphical anomalies appears across the screen as well.

Had to drop down to 3.2Ghz, but further testing when running 3D Games also generated VPU recover. Same with 3.0Ghz after running 3D games for a long period of time. So we dropped down to stock speeds.

The CPU isn't overheating, so I think the problem is that raising the FSB, causing the AGP bus to increase as a result, is making the GPU unstable, generating a VPU recover.

Am I right in saying this...and if I can, how can we get around this ?
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 03:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

you need to lock agp/pci frequency to 66/33 , if you cant find it in bios then it means the chipset doesnt support it , in that case youll have to run it in stock speeds or get a new mobo..
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 04:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Okies thanks. Can't lock AGP PCI clock freq. in the BIOS...no support fot it ... Nevermind .

...would raising the AGP voltage make any diference?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 04:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

nope :amazed:
jeremy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.