overclocking help request. - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2010, 06:43 PM   #41 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lexington, Ky.
Posts: 51
Default Re: overclocking help request.

I have reduced the CPU voltage while running a 3 pass with Linx each time. When I hit 1.24 Linx stopped on the 3rd pass. I bumped up the voltage one time and ran Linx for a 20 pass. Linx stopped at pass 17 with a "not enough memory error. My temps dropped about 4'C and held steady at 64'C. I'm not sure what the memory error could possibly mean.
__________________

LA1978chik is offline  
Old 08-23-2010, 07:33 PM   #42 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: overclocking help request.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LA1978chik View Post
I have reduced the CPU voltage while running a 3 pass with Linx each time. When I hit 1.24 Linx stopped on the 3rd pass. I bumped up the voltage one time and ran Linx for a 20 pass. Linx stopped at pass 17 with a "not enough memory error. My temps dropped about 4'C and held steady at 64'C. I'm not sure what the memory error could possibly mean.
1.24 +1 notch=????

Bump it up one more time and see if the problem repeats, thou it could just be a glitch in the LinX software.

Edit:
I like looking at screenshots
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 08-24-2010, 11:54 AM   #43 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lexington, Ky.
Posts: 51
Default Re: overclocking help request.

I have bumped up the voltage two times and a 20 pass with LINX has completed without errors.



Is it safe to try to proceed with higher clock settings? The PC has been running for about 4 days and has never crashed other than under stress test conditions. Flightsim has been run for about 10 hours and I have played Crysis for about 5 or 6 hours. No problems. My fps's in FSX could go a little higher though. As I said earlier the bigger airports bring it down to a marginal fps acceptance level for me.
LA1978chik is offline  
Old 08-24-2010, 12:06 PM   #44 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: overclocking help request.

To go higher I would 1st try changing the CPU Ratio/Multiplier to 21. This will increase the CPU speed to 4.2GHz while leaving the Memory speed at 1600MHz. I would increase the CPU VCore back up to 1.3125 volts to start with and then work your way down again.

And remember if you BSOD with this error code (***STOP: 0x00000101 ) you need to increase the CPU VCore

And increase the QPI/DRAM Core Voltage with this error code (***STOP: 0x00000124 ), but Keep this below 1.4 volts if possible.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 08-24-2010, 03:35 PM   #45 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lexington, Ky.
Posts: 51
Default Re: overclocking help request.

More pieces of the puzzle coming together. Thanks Slaymate. Will work on it more tonight.
LA1978chik is offline  
Old 08-24-2010, 05:04 PM   #46 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default Re: overclocking help request.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
Start LinX, click the "All" button, set it to run 20 times and then click "Start". We'll know just where your at then
You actually do seem like a god of overclocking xD, sorry if it's off topic.


P.S WOOOOT 100 Posts
__________________
Intel I5 2500K | Gigabyte P67 UD5 |16GB Mushkin Redline @ 2133MHZ|Custom Watercooling | Crucial C300 64GB SSD | GPU currently bidding for |Corsair HX 1000W PSU | Corsair 700D
iPROTechman is offline  
Old 08-24-2010, 05:42 PM   #47 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lexington, Ky.
Posts: 51
Default Re: overclocking help request.

You just had to get that in for the "100" milestone huh iPROTechman! LOL Good job though.

I bumped up to 4.2 (MultiplierX21) and voltage to 1.3125V. Ran a quick LINX 3 pass. Temps topped out at 71'C. Still ok as far as I know. (From what I have read 80.C is the start of some concerns) Then I dropped the voltage one(-) point and the LINX 3 pass stopped with an error after about 13+/- minutes. The PC actually crashed and I found the dump file but after some reading I still am not sure what to do with it. I'll stick on Megaupload.... MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service
LA1978chik is offline  
Old 08-24-2010, 06:51 PM   #48 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: overclocking help request.

I not up on reading dump files.

4.2GHz at 71C sounds perfect to me. I'm of the opinion that 80C is way to hot. It doesn't take long before your heatsink will have a buildup of dust bunnies that need cleaning and your temps will slowly rise and fall as you cycle thru cleaning periods. I try to keep my max temps between 70-75C which is where your at now.

Just bump your VCore back up to 1.3125 volts, if you get any random crashes you may need to raise it up another notch still which will probably put your temps right around 75C.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 08-24-2010, 07:35 PM   #49 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lexington, Ky.
Posts: 51
Default Re: overclocking help request.

So would you say I am approaching the max setting (after fine tuning) of 4.2? at least on air cooling?
LA1978chik is offline  
Old 08-24-2010, 07:46 PM   #50 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: overclocking help request.

Yes, in fact your running almost exactly the same as I am. I'm also at 4.2GHz but I only need 1.30625 volts. I can push mine faster but it runs hotter and it will glitch occasionally. When your temps get to 75C and up it doesn't take much to cause an instability
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sig request stb1swat Off Topic Discussion 4 04-11-2009 01:04 AM
~new Sig Request~ CrAzY_GaMeR_07 Web Graphics and Design 6 10-05-2005 03:07 PM
[Request]HJT Log (Please~) GweeYupDa HijackThis Logs (finished) 4 06-26-2005 08:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.