Overclocking Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2007, 07:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Default Overclocking Help

I am wanting to overclock my computer a little bit, however, I am not able to overclock it an have it be stable. My processor is currently set to 200Mhz with a multiplier of 14. I have tried to overclock it only to 210Mhz, but my system becomes unstable. Any advice is welcomed.

I have the following hardware:
Motherboard
CPU
RAM
Power Supply

Attached is my dxdiag...compressed.
Attached Files
File Type: zip DxDiag.zip (9.5 KB, 1 views)
__________________

Ithryndil is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 12:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Default Re: Overclocking Help

Any ideas or thoughts on this?
__________________

Ithryndil is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 12:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Overclocking Help

What heatsink do you use? What is the CPU temp idle and on load at stock speed?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 12:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Overclocking Help

Is the 14x multiplier a factory setting? I think it is, but just clarifying.

That would put you at 2.8ghz using a 200mhz fsb. and at 2.95ghz @ 210mhz fsb. Your motherboard and ram should be able to take it. But just to make sure, lower the multiplier for your ram one setting and test it again.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 12:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kurtowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia,Nsw
Posts: 129
Default Re: Overclocking Help

that ram runs at 800mhz? correct me if im wrong
__________________
Cpu:Q6600 GO @ 3.4ghz 1.36V
Gfx:8800 Gts 640Mbs
HD:500 gb SATA2 16mb
OS:Windows Xp 32Bit
Ram:2gb ddr2 Corsair
Monitor:ViewSonic Vg2030wm 20inch Wide Screen
MotherBoard:Abit Ip35 Pro !! - AWESOME
Fan:Zalman 9700
kurtowns is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 12:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Overclocking Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by kurtowns View Post
that ram runs at 800mhz? correct me if im wrong
Yes, that's DDR2-800.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 12:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kurtowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia,Nsw
Posts: 129
Default Re: Overclocking Help

ok go into advanced and go to voltages and timings and change the ram to 533mhz to give you some overclocking room it would be most likely already set to auto
__________________
Cpu:Q6600 GO @ 3.4ghz 1.36V
Gfx:8800 Gts 640Mbs
HD:500 gb SATA2 16mb
OS:Windows Xp 32Bit
Ram:2gb ddr2 Corsair
Monitor:ViewSonic Vg2030wm 20inch Wide Screen
MotherBoard:Abit Ip35 Pro !! - AWESOME
Fan:Zalman 9700
kurtowns is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 12:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Default Re: Overclocking Help

Ok, I'll have to try that. The temperature runs around 30-35C stock. So it should be able to do it...
Ithryndil is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 08:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 176
Default Re: Overclocking Help

It appears the only thing I can see to change is my cpu speed and the voltage for my cpu along with the voltage for the RAM (I think). I don't see a place to edit my RAM timings or speed. If someone knows of a program I can use to take a picture of my bios, I could get some pictures to help you help me.
Ithryndil is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 08:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Overclocking Help

Some mobos only allow the user to change cpu clocking and voltages, not ram timings.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Overclocking questions 101 lafguy81 Overclocking and Modding 29 10-23-2007 10:44 AM
Overclocking my new AM2 6000+ Lord Lihp Overclocking and Modding 16 08-18-2007 10:37 AM
ASUS Announces Hardware Based Real-time Overclocking Device Osiris Overclocking and Modding 2 07-06-2007 11:44 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.