Overclocking Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2007, 02:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default Overclocking Help

Hey Folks,

Just set up my new rig and I was wondering if you could help suggest some overclocking numbers (ie, FSB (I assume multiplier is at 9x), GPU clock speeds, and RAM timing)

Here's what I got:

All in an Antec 900 Case with 3x 120mm fans and 1x 200mm fan

Video: NVidia 8800GTS 640Mb, with Zalman ZF900 Cooler
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600, with Tuniq Tower 120 Cooling
RAM: G.SKILL (2x1GB) 240-pin DDR2 800 F26400PHU2-2GBHZ (heat spreaders, no additional cooling)

So, if you could suggest some numbers to help me OC that'd be awesome, thanks.
__________________

__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 02:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Overclocking Help

Set CPU Frequency to 334 right away giving you an Overclock of 3.00 Ghz. (3.006 if you really care)

Use StressCPU2 for stress testing. Give it 30 minutes to 2 hours for a quick test, if no errors, blue screens or restarts it means your stable.
You will also want to get a Temp monitering program Like Coretemp or everest. If load Temp is under 60C your good.. (For example when I was @ 3.41 Ghz My load temp on StressCPU2 never exceded 54C)

If it does restart you will have to up Vcore one notch, then more testing, continue upping Vcore untill it does not restart or error.

Thats an extremely standard OC for an E6600, 3 Ghz right away, many people don't even have to change Voltages.
You should also Set MCH Voltage and FSB Voltage to + 0.1 Right away..

Heres I guide, I suggest you follow it. Until you have a problem you can't figure out then you can post again.
Core2Duo Overclocking Guide v1.1

Only Reason I am Still on 3.204 Ghz is because SMP Folding is Buggy at higher clocks. I have gotten to 3.41 Ghz Before..

You shouldn't have to change the RAM timmings until 3.6 Ghz. Assuming you have the Same RAM as Me, which it looks like you do.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 12:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Overclocking Help

ste u always get to the o/c threads u know what ur tlakin bout
kobe24 is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 01:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Overclocking Help

Thanks.

You should Hope I know what Im talking about... -Eye roll-
Ste is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 09:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default Re: Overclocking Help

thanks ste, looks great.

Assuming i do get to 3.6ghz, what ram timings would you suggest?

Also, any input on VGU overclocking?
__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 12:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Overclocking Help

ull get higher than 3! i think bout 3.4+ easy! ram timings i would go below 4 4 4 5
__________________

kobe24 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Overclocking the E6300 with Bad Axe 2 TheWongizzle Overclocking and Modding 3 05-20-2007 10:12 PM
Shutdown problem when overclocking Zatio89 Overclocking and Modding 6 05-20-2007 09:50 PM
I want to know about Overclocking for New Computer bbcrew Overclocking and Modding 3 05-10-2007 12:10 AM
AMD overclocking? veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 10 04-30-2007 04:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.