overclocking graphics - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2005, 04:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 222
Default overclocking graphics

Can I overclock a nvidia 5200 128mb to a nvidia 5200 256mb?
__________________

ikillyou61 is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 04:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

u can oc it to 256mb speeds, but u cant add more ram to a video card if that's what your asking, but u can easily oc the 5200 past the 256mb version, on my 5200 i got it up to 300/400.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 04:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 222
Default

how do you overclock a 5200 128mb to 256mb?
ikillyou61 is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 04:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Ridlyn just told you, you cant add more RAM to the card because that is what your saying. If your trying to overclock to the speeds of a 5200 256mb, try rivatuner or coolbits. I beleive both of these will work (someone correct me if im wrong though).
thebleakness is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 04:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

yes rivatuner is a great ocing program just dl then oc.

but u cant add another 128mb of ram to a video card to make it 256mb thats just not possible.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 04:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 222
Default

thanx guys
ikillyou61 is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 04:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 222
Default

can I overclock an ati radeon 9200 256mb to an ati radeon 9200 384mb?
ikillyou61 is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 05:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ridlyn
u can oc it to 256mb speeds, but u cant add more ram to a video card if that's what your asking, but u can easily oc the 5200 past the 256mb version, on my 5200 i got it up to 300/400.
read this over again, and think about what your asking.
__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 05:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 222
Default

I meant speed up my ati radeon 9200 256mb agp 8x
ikillyou61 is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 07:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 81
Default

u cant add memory bottom line
__________________

sgtmetal is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.