overclocking GPU via Nvidia control panel.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2006, 09:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default overclocking GPU via Nvidia control panel....

I clicked on "find optimal" which bumped 3D clock and memory clock up nicely but i just wanted to put it slightly higher and to a nice round figure, but when i do it says please use test to check etc, so thats what i do and it comes up with a box saying this test will take several seconds blah blah blah and i click on "ok" and it just reverts back to the optimal settings? why is it? is it because its on the highest safest settings and any higher could damage my gpu?
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 10:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

idk but the same thing has been happening to me as well.
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 10:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Use Rivatuner.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 10:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

so your saying the problem isnt that its at its highest safest settings, but the nvidia ocing(coolbits) doesnt work well?

And is rivatuner a seperate programme or is it like coolbits that adds features to nvidia control panel?
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 10:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

if it wont pass the test, then it isnt going to be a stable overclock without voltmods. just leave it at the higest it will go before failing the test (if temps will allow that) without artifacts.
joshd is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 12:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

But as far as i can see it doesnt even do a test, i set it to what id like then click "test", then a box pops up telling me that the test will take several seconds and if the system crashes turn the pc off, so i click "ok" and then box dissapears and the settings revert back to the optimal settings? doesnt say "testing please wait" or anything
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 12:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

yea i know. it used to do that on the good old drivers, but the new ones dont do anything. i noticed that.

you will notice if you test on a freq you know works, it will do it fine.

just a poor aspect of the new drivers i expect.
joshd is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 12:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Just do all your overclocking, artifact scanning, and temperature monitoring in the ATI Tool Beta.
__________________

Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Closed Thread

« 6800 Gt | Question »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.