OVerclocking Gpu questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-29-2008, 02:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 25
Default OVerclocking Gpu questions

couple questions

1. is it safe to use software that was made for nvidia cards on ati?

2. how come nobody uses catalyst control center that comes with the ATI card to overclock? is it ******?

3. what is flashing? heard something about flashing a gpu

4. well i suppose this question really depends on what card you have, but on average about how many mhz can you overclock your core clock and memory clock? ive been doing some snooping in the crysis oc section and seems to be around 100-150 more mhz then default.. true? i have a MSI ATI 4850 by the way



Answer them all and i will fedex you a cookie
__________________

Cat_Returns is offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 02:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: OVerclocking Gpu questions

1. yes rivatuner works fine for ati cards.

2. yes the controll center is crap, use atitool instead

3. flashing is replacing the Bios of the video card to unlock extra pipes, or get extra performance for free, (unless u really feel like screwing the card up, dont even try it)

4. yeah it depends, the core will ALWAYS overclock much much more than the ram, everyones overclock is different, yours may be less or more than what others got. just take it slow, and be safe about it so u dont ruin your shiny 4850


You will need to use ATI tool, (it has a little thing that scans for artifacts, and really stresses the GPU core for heat), and use Riva tuner, (either to monitor temps , or to overclock AND monitor temps)

then raise the core by 5mhz each time, scan for artifacts for a good 10-15 min between boosts

once you find your maximum stable core OC, drop it back down to stock, and do the same thing with ram

then just put the 2 numbers together and test it with 3dmark06, and visually inspect it for artifacts and tearing
__________________

RichM499 is offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 02:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 32
Default Re: OVerclocking Gpu questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichM499 View Post
1. yes rivatuner works fine for ati cards.

2. yes the controll center is crap, use atitool instead

3. flashing is replacing the Bios of the video card to unlock extra pipes, or get extra performance for free, (unless u really feel like screwing the card up, dont even try it)

4. yeah it depends, the core will ALWAYS overclock much much more than the ram, everyones overclock is different, yours may be less or more than what others got. just take it slow, and be safe about it so u dont ruin your shiny 4850


You will need to use ATI tool, (it has a little thing that scans for artifacts, and really stresses the GPU core for heat), and use Riva tuner, (either to monitor temps , or to overclock AND monitor temps)

then raise the core by 5mhz each time, scan for artifacts for a good 10-15 min between boosts

once you find your maximum stable core OC, drop it back down to stock, and do the same thing with ram

then just put the 2 numbers together and test it with 3dmark06, and visually inspect it for artifacts and tearing
so this flashing.. will it upgrade graphics card performance a significant degree?
Twalker323 is offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 02:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: OVerclocking Gpu questions

yes it will but only with specific models


certain cards (for example the radeon 9550) was just a gimped out 9700 with disabled pipelines, and they relabeled it

and you could flash the bios, the system would read it as a 9700 and unlock the pipes for you (but theres a reason those pipes were disabled, 30-40% of the time it worked, the other 60-70% had bad pipelines in the card, and had to reverse the process.)
RichM499 is offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 02:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 32
Default Re: OVerclocking Gpu questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichM499 View Post
yes it will but only with specific models


certain cards (for example the radeon 9550) was just a gimped out 9700 with disabled pipelines, and they relabeled it

and you could flash the bios, the system would read it as a 9700 and unlock the pipes for you (but theres a reason those pipes were disabled, 30-40% of the time it worked, the other 60-70% had bad pipelines in the card, and had to reverse the process.)
interesting... i wonder if the msi ati 4850 series has something like that going on. where can i check?
Twalker323 is offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 02:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: OVerclocking Gpu questions

google research=P cause i have no idea
RichM499 is offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 06:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: OVerclocking Gpu questions

flashing a BIOS is simply replacing the firmware of your GPU with one you've modified with changed clock (and fan... for the 4850) settings and in some cases cards can be crossflashed with other BIOS... this is most commonly just to make the GPU OC at a card level instead of just software
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 10:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: OVerclocking Gpu questions

What bios would you have to flash on your 4850 with? The 4870 is higher clocked and GDDR5 so you would just have a higher clocked 4850 if you used 4870 bios.

Unless you had one of the new 4830's you'd have no reason to even bother with it.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 01:36 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: OVerclocking Gpu questions

exactly, its pointless unless you just happen to get very very specific cards

some of the x1600's, some of the 9xxx series ATI cards, the geforce 6200 (by certain manufacturers)

those are what im talking about, and it will happen again, the cycle repeats itself

just be on the look out for budget cards that are just crippled higher-cost versions=)
__________________

RichM499 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Overclocking Thread. Ste Overclocking and Modding 429 02-24-2010 05:03 PM
Monitor/HDTV... GPU Questions smashedpumpkins New Systems | Building and Buying 5 08-10-2008 08:34 AM
GPU Overclocking...simple question mgcook Overclocking and Modding 3 01-01-2008 12:07 AM
Overclocking Questions SpikedCola Overclocking and Modding 6 12-16-2007 08:23 PM
CPU Voltage questions Gabb Overclocking and Modding 28 11-21-2007 09:15 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.