Overclocking GPU memory results in no artifacts but in other weird problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-17-2006, 10:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default Overclocking GPU memory results in no artifacts but in other weird problem

When i overclock the memory of my 7800gt card my games are less jittery, but when i am moving or turning in fps games it is hard to distinguish what is going on. It is as if everything is constantly moving, and it gives me a headache. That is the best way i can explain it. I don't know what is causing it. When i stop everything looks fine, but when i turn at all i find it hard to see what is happening. It's like it is taking a longer time to focus on the direction i am facing than it had been or something. Any ideas?
__________________

stainer711 is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 01:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

could be your eyes ........ i know some people get dizzy and get motion sickness
__________________

__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 02:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

i get motion sickness playing games every now and then.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 02:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default

I can distinquish between things when it isn't overclocked... Maybe there are just more frames or something.
stainer711 is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 03:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

r u seeing tearing effect? or just game lag? both make games look weird and uncomfortable especially when u move fast. dunno u r using CRT or LCD but mb try turning vsync on?
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 06:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default

I am using an old crt,
stainer711 is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 07:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by stainer711
I am using an old crt,
whats ur monitors refresh rate? and how many fps u getting from game?
if ur graphix card is producing more frames than ur CRT monotors refresh rate can hundle, itll make weird effects like that...if not im mistaken. try turning vsync on in games. itll limit the fps to the max of ur CRT refresh rate. but from what u r describing, its more like tearing effect on LCD.. so im not exactly sure.
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 08:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default

Turning on vsync helped a lot. I wish there was an option for that in every game. Is there a program that will do vsync for you in every game? Everything looks so much better with it on.
stainer711 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 12:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

im not sure theres an app for it. but check the nvidea utility came w/ or down load latest driver and coolbits. mb force vsync option is there like other AA or AF functions...but im not sure.. and im just too lazy to look at mine right now...
__________________

__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.