Overclocking GeForce 9500GT - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2009, 06:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Overclocking GeForce 9500GT

What is AA/AF ?
__________________

Night Fox is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 06:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Overclocking GeForce 9500GT

They are basically extra settings to increase how "nice" the visuals look.

You can read more about them at wikipedia if your interested.

Anti-aliasing - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Anisotropic filtering - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

They should be settings in the game graphics menu or your video card control panel.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 08:55 PM   #13 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Overclocking GeForce 9500GT

I read somewhere that you need to take Amps of power supply, wattage of power supply, cooling, etc, into account before overclocking anything....
Night Fox is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 09:35 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Overclocking GeForce 9500GT

Only if you have a poor quality brand and or if you just meet the minimum requirements.

If your using a power supply well above required you don't need to worry about that.


What is your power supply?
Ste is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 07:47 AM   #15 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Overclocking GeForce 9500GT

Well I have a 500W PSU with 28A of +12V.
Night Fox is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 02:25 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Overclocking GeForce 9500GT

Thats more than enough since the 9500gt is really low end, even if you overclocked it.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 03:09 PM   #17 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Overclocking GeForce 9500GT

Let me see if I have this correct: The more Amps you have, the more power can be transferred to the graphics card? Or is it the Watts that matters?
Night Fox is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 03:40 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Overclocking GeForce 9500GT

No, the wattage and amperage that is listed on a PSU is the maximum amount the power supply can output.

But that does not mean the computer is using that much at all times.

A computer only pulls what it needs, so it pulls less power at idle and more power during heavy loads.

A computer should never pull even close to the maximum output of the power supply it is running on.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 04:04 PM   #19 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Overclocking GeForce 9500GT

So how much Amps of the +12V rail am I using right now? (roughly)


If I overclock my graphics card, it will just be using more power and will be getting hotter?
Night Fox is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 04:13 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Overclocking GeForce 9500GT

I don't know how much your computer is using.

If you really want to know you can get A DMM to measure the amps and voltages on the psu.

To know the total wattage your PC is using you need a kilowatt power meter to measure from the wall.

Overclocking does produce more heat because it requires more energy, but it won't be enough for you to worry about.

Since your only doing about 5 or 10% increases.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Geforce 177.92 Beta-Driver up to 15% faster in gaming maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 18 09-04-2008 10:25 PM
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
Overclocking an Nvidia 8600GT GPU - Clock settings jmoussa87 Overclocking and Modding 14 08-17-2008 03:06 PM
Nvidia GeForce 9800 series specs released b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 109 11-24-2007 06:43 AM
Overclocking geforce 8 series? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 48 10-12-2007 02:25 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.