Overclocking GeForce 9500GT - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2009, 02:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Overclocking GeForce 9500GT

Well I have a GeForce 9500GT. I have no idea how to overclock anything. I just built my first computer over the summer so I guess I would be called a beginner. Anyhow, I was planning on playing Call of Duty 5 and World at War on this new computer. I also wanted to play on full settings (maximum resolution, etc.). I downloaded the trial for Call of Duty 4 before I bought it and I turned the settings all the way up and I got a slight lag. Is there any way to overclock this graphics card so I can play this game on full settings without lag? If so, how. (Remember I'm a beginner....so start at the beginning).
__________________

Night Fox is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 02:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Overclocking GeForce 9500GT

Thats a pretty low end card.

Which raises the question, what resolution are you running?

You probably should have bought a better card in the first place.

But there are programs like atitool or evga precision tool that will let you OC it.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 02:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Overclocking GeForce 9500GT

welcome rubber ducky......

download and install riva tuner

nice tutorial for how to overclock
using riva tuner

However, depending on your resolution, I don't think you are going to be playing the game at full settings without lag even with overclocking =\

9500GT just isn't very powerful
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 03:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Overclocking GeForce 9500GT

Honestly, evga precision is more user freindly. To OC, I always look at what the highest factory setting is for the card, set it to that, then run a test.. furmark etc.
Then if stable, put it up 20mhz anbd retest.. and continue.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 05:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Overclocking GeForce 9500GT

Well yes, I realized after I bought it that it was pretty low. But, I can run CoD4 on full settings there's just this slight lag. Perhaps my 4gb of memory and my 2.66ghz Quad makes up for that? I don't know. But if i overclocked it to make it not lag, would it strain it or would I not have to do it that much?
Night Fox is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 05:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Overclocking GeForce 9500GT

We still need to know what resolution your running.

You probably won't be able to overclock it enough to diminish the lagh effects, its possible, but unlikely.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 05:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Overclocking GeForce 9500GT

Resolution in-game or normal?
Night Fox is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 05:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Overclocking GeForce 9500GT

In Game.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 05:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Overclocking GeForce 9500GT

The maximum in-game resolution that I would like to play at is 1680x1050
Night Fox is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 06:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Overclocking GeForce 9500GT

Ok.

All you have to do now is do small experiments with overclocks using any of the programs already suggested.

You can also turn off/down the AA/AF to get higher frame rates.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Geforce 177.92 Beta-Driver up to 15% faster in gaming maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 18 09-04-2008 10:25 PM
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
Overclocking an Nvidia 8600GT GPU - Clock settings jmoussa87 Overclocking and Modding 14 08-17-2008 03:06 PM
Nvidia GeForce 9800 series specs released b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 109 11-24-2007 06:43 AM
Overclocking geforce 8 series? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 48 10-12-2007 02:25 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.