Overclocking GeForce 6600GT - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2009, 07:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 238
Default Overclocking GeForce 6600GT

Well, I've downloaded rivaturner and I've tried bringing my clock and memory speed up by increments of 5 mhz. Each time I increased the clock speed and did a benchmark test with 3Dmark03, i never got any different results. I'm now at 15 mhz, whether I'm playing a game or not, the core temps don't change more than 10 degrees and my FPS hasn't changed either.

So, whats up?
__________________

blue4paper is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 07:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Overclocking GeForce 6600GT

15 Mhz is a small overclock, you probably won't see large gains in anything with that.

Try overclocking more..

Make sure you also increase memory and shader clocks by small amounts.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 07:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Overclocking GeForce 6600GT

On that card,watch your temps, is it got a fan?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 08:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 238
Default Re: Overclocking GeForce 6600GT

Well, I just finished using ATI tool, and i got max core of 561 mhz and memory 641 mhz.

I'm not sure if i did this properly, but during the memory clock test, my temps were still at 61 C the entire time. While overclocking my core, they reached a max of 74 before the artefacts came and frooze the comp.

Also, in rivatuner i cant seem to find the shader clock, i checked in the power user and couldn't find it. Is it possible my card doesn't support it?

And yes, the card does have a fan, and i also have another fan blowing in its direction, but i plan on replacing the fan to point directly at the card soon.

Edit: Alright, I set my core clock to 540 mhz and memory clock to 615 mhz. My temperatures are 43 GPU and 36 Chipset, when idle. I'm going to try and play a game now and see how the temps do.
blue4paper is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 09:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Overclocking GeForce 6600GT

You can use the atitool to test forf artifacts and it'll load your gpu and you can watch the temps at the same time.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 09:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 238
Default Re: Overclocking GeForce 6600GT

Yes, i just used ATI tool, i'm using the above mentioned clock speeds and my core temps are going past 60 when i'm playing in game. What i'm wondering is that, even when ATI tool tested my clock speeds at the max, my temps were still around 70ish. Does this mean that my cards limit is when it starts crashing no matter the temps?
blue4paper is offline  
Old 12-21-2009, 12:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Overclocking GeForce 6600GT

Yes, temp is one determining factor, and the card cpu is another.

You've hit the cards cpus limit.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-21-2009, 12:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 238
Default Re: Overclocking GeForce 6600GT

How close to the cards limits should i go? 10mhz? 15mhz?

Edit: Also what programs can i use to check voltage for my graphics card. If rivatuner or ati tool has this option where is it.
__________________

blue4paper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Geforce 177.92 Beta-Driver up to 15% faster in gaming maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 18 09-04-2008 10:25 PM
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
Overclocking an Nvidia 8600GT GPU - Clock settings jmoussa87 Overclocking and Modding 14 08-17-2008 03:06 PM
Overclocking geforce 8 series? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 48 10-12-2007 02:25 PM
Nvidia launches notebook-bound GeForce 8700M GT maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 06-14-2007 01:13 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.