Overclocking Geforce 210 1gb - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2011, 01:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
y2adre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 259
Default Overclocking Geforce 210 1gb

I have grabbed this for my htpc and for some reason, my 1080p movies on scenes that sometimes make up a lot of action or a ton of people involved in a fight scene sometimes acts a little weird, like slows up or sometimes speeds up or breaks in the pics. I was wondering if someone could help me. I have 1 gb of ddr2 memory in it now and 1gb onboard for the video card.

What can I do to help improve it and #2 How high can I overclock this video card for the htpc performance? Will it help to overclock it
__________________

y2adre is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 01:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Overclocking Geforce 210 1gb

it won't help much to overclock it, and in an HTPC where heat is killer I wouldn't recommend it. It's just the card. I'd recommend returning it if possible and getting at least a geforce 220, or a radeon 4550.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 05:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Overclocking Geforce 210 1gb

What are your system specs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
it won't help much to overclock it, and in an HTPC where heat is killer I wouldn't recommend it.
Agreed.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 05:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
y2adre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 259
Default Re: Overclocking Geforce 210 1gb

pentium D 2.8ghz
1gb ddr2 memory
320gb hard drive
2TB hard drive
y2adre is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 05:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
y2adre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 259
Default Re: Overclocking Geforce 210 1gb

i have a feeling, Just dont want to give it up. You dont think more memory will help the situation?
y2adre is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 06:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Overclocking Geforce 210 1gb

Perhaps. What OS are you running? If it's Win7, you should probably be doing with 2GB anyway. If it's a Linux distro, 1GB is generally fine.

Extra RAM isn't going to make 1080p playback any smoother, though.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 06:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
y2adre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 259
Default Re: Overclocking Geforce 210 1gb

What would Ram help with? I'm new to this.
y2adre is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 07:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Overclocking Geforce 210 1gb

more ram will help if your running a lot start-up programs in the background or your running memory intensive programs like Autocad or Photoshop. Don't get me wrong as more ram won't hurt, but it's probably not going to give you the boost your needing. Your having problems with video playback and that's a video card issue.

You want help but your not answering the questions very well. What OS (operating system) are you running? Your computer, is it a pre-built like a Dell, HP, etc...? If not what are all your system specifications? Power Supply - make and model, Motherboard - make and model, Memory - 1 stick? 2 stick? The video card, did it come with the PC or did you buy it later. Did both Hard Drives come with the PC?

Have you checked the various system temperatures?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 07:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Overclocking Geforce 210 1gb

The video card takes care of the 1080p playback to take the stress off the CPU, but both the cpu and gpu are sorely underpowered for 1080p playback. There was a toms hardware review on the geforce 210, 220, and radeon 4550 with blu-ray playback and they said that the 210 had noticeable lag and problems with the viewing, but the 220 and 4550 didn't see those issues.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 04-20-2011, 01:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
y2adre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 259
Default Re: Overclocking Geforce 210 1gb

I saw the same article and wasn't sure how the fps played in when they were talking about movies fps. My 720p's look and act noticeably better. Plus the computer itself is noticebly quieter with the new card. May just stick to 720p movies and just deal with it on my star wars movies and matrix movies lol
__________________

y2adre is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking a Geforce 7600GS Taoro Overclocking and Modding 5 02-23-2007 09:13 PM
overclocking a msi geforce 6200??? neweyedeya18 Overclocking and Modding 1 02-08-2006 06:48 AM
GeForce Overclocking Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 01-22-2006 10:27 AM
Overclocking XFX Geforce FX-5500 reggie_da_man Overclocking and Modding 9 09-27-2005 11:11 PM
Overclocking a Geforce FX 5200 Syphanx Overclocking and Modding 0 10-13-2003 07:51 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.