Overclocking, FSB Vs Multiplier - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2008, 02:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default Overclocking, FSB Vs Multiplier

I have always been one to take the easy way out go and buy the extreme versions of processors. I have always just overclocked with the multiplier and have not bothered with the fsb.

I am sure that if i bump the multiplier down and crank the fsb up so that i am back up at the same speed, i might see a performance increase.

Has anybody here benchmarked both and documented whether there was a perfomance increase?

Also i know that a lot of people here use the 680i boards. When you guys crank your fsb up, do you change out the bridge heatsink? I am sure that some of you WC the bridge.. just not sure if it really needs it. And how much higher do you usually need to raise the voltages?Besides the mem and cpu.
__________________

jseber1982 is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 03:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Overclocking, FSB Vs Multiplier

You always want to run higher FSB. Try running super pi at the same clock speeds. One w/ multiplier and other w/ high fsb. FSB will speed the whole system as oppose to the cpu by raising the multi
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 04:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Overclocking, FSB Vs Multiplier

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdshiftdj View Post
You always want to run higher FSB. Try running super pi at the same clock speeds. One w/ multiplier and other w/ high fsb. FSB will speed the whole system as oppose to the cpu by raising the multi
thats not true at all? (I might be wrong... don't flame me)

most components in the PC can't handle the increased FSB unless its minimal... thats why people run the highest multpliers they can... if your components (RAM/PCI) can handle the increased FSB, thats the better way to go, but in most cases... (unless overclocking minimally) you won't be able to increase the FSB as high as you would like without setting RAM/CPU Ratios and/or limiting PCI bus speeds.
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 06:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Overclocking, FSB Vs Multiplier

ram would be the only issue if your shooting for a high fsb, in which case you could just downclock it. I have my ram @ 996mhz from 11--mhz when I oc'ed my cpu to 290. You find a happy median. Let's say my cpu had an unlocked multi. It won't be faster if I uped the multi to 2.9 speeds and left the ram at 800 or the rest of my system at default. It would be communicating w/ the NB and ram at default FSB
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 01:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Overclocking, FSB Vs Multiplier

most benchmarks show little to no difference.
mgcook is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 03:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Overclocking, FSB Vs Multiplier

running a higher fsb vs a high multiplier WILL make a positive difference, IF you dont have to clock your ram too low to achieve the high fsb, which is often the case.
as mgcook says, the difference is negligible. superpi likes high cpu and ram speed (obviously), and it is noticable in some benchmarks. not many, though.
FYI....increasing the FSB to its highest clock is considered the "correct" way to overclock, vs raising the multi. lol...it obviously takes a bit more work.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-26-2008, 01:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Overclocking, FSB Vs Multiplier

I've been wondering about this to. I figured higher ram fsb would be better but a lower ram fsb could allow for tighter timings. When I get my new system I was going to check if it offered a option for lowering the multiplier and upping the fsb. So far every site I've seen says its better but I haven't seen any benches or anything.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 02-26-2008, 03:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default Re: Overclocking, FSB Vs Multiplier

I did some tests last night. I had my baseline set at 3.5ghz using only multipliers.
I scored 16,434.... I upped the fsb a bit to 350(1400) and lowered the multiplier down to 10... scored a 17,900. I left the memory at 1066.. There is still room to go, but i proved to myself that the fsb does work better.

I guess the multplier(unlocked) is just good to do a quick run and see what the cpu itself is capable of... then just tweak the fsb to try and get it as close to that as possible.
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 07:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Overclocking, FSB Vs Multiplier

anybody can up the multiplier but overclocking w/ fsb takes some more skill and patience. Your getting 17,900 w/ Gtx's in sli?
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 07:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Overclocking, FSB Vs Multiplier

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdshiftdj View Post
ram would be the only issue if your shooting for a high fsb, in which case you could just downclock it. I have my ram @ 996mhz from 11--mhz when I oc'ed my cpu to 290. You find a happy median. Let's say my cpu had an unlocked multi. It won't be faster if I uped the multi to 2.9 speeds and left the ram at 800 or the rest of my system at default. It would be communicating w/ the NB and ram at default FSB
it actually will be faster, and you will see it in benchmarks.
it just wont be as fast using multiplier as it would be if you overclocked to the same speed using clock speed instead.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
Memory speed related to Overclocking Wease Overclocking and Modding 2 01-22-2008 10:04 PM
Noob question regarding FSB speeds. manowar Overclocking and Modding 10 12-26-2007 06:35 PM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
higher fsb and lower multiplier or lower fsb and higher multiplier? advancedgeek Overclocking and Modding 5 10-02-2007 10:26 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.