Overclocking Extreme Edition... Multiplier or BCLOCK? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2010, 05:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default

I'm having a weird situation with my (as of now, mild) overclocking. I've upped the BCLK to 145 (so far, I haven't had to change any other non-overvolt settings in the BIOS, as everything has stayed within specs, since my memory is capable of hitting 2000, and is only at 1450 now) and, while running LinX as a stress test, have needed to overvolt for the first time to increase stability. I'm shooting for being able to run LinX for 20 minutes, and I've come close, but issues have crept up. Here is the chronological history of the 145 BCLK; I'm trying to do things according to Slaymate's i7 guide:

1. LinX stops with errors in 5 seconds. Bumped up VCore.
2. LinX stops with errors in approximately 4 minutes. Bumped up QPI PLL.
3. LinX stops with errors in approximately 6 minutes. Bumped up QPI PLL.
4. LinX stops with errors in 19 minutes 29 seconds. Bumped up QPI/VTT.
5. LinX stops with errors in 3 minutes 37 seconds???

When I say I "bumped up" a setting, I basically mean that I moved it one "notch" in the BIOS; in other words, I'm not typing in exact values, but choosing the next highest value that the BIOS will accept. All of the temperatures on these tests are in the safe zone (i.e., not even close to 70 degrees), so it's not overheating that's causing this. No lock-ups, no BSOD, LinX just won't reach the 20 minute mark without stopping due to errors.

I would have expected that step #4 would have resulted in either LinX passing the 20 minute test, or at least lasting a few seconds longer. I definitely didn't expect it to jump down so far. Does this mean that I should again bump up QPI PLL and see if that works, or is there some kind of weird interaction that means there is another route that I should take?

Cool, thanks! For some reason my computer made it seem like the PM didn't go through. There's now another thread on this issue... you can delete it if you think it's extraneous.

I'll fill this out when I get home.
__________________

__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 11-15-2010, 06:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Overclocking Extreme Edition... Multiplier or BCLOCK?

I merged your other thread into this thread and then I merged that post into your last post^^
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 11-15-2010, 06:15 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Overclocking Extreme Edition... Multiplier or BCLOCK?

Sweet.
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 11-16-2010, 12:25 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Overclocking Extreme Edition... Multiplier or BCLOCK?

I was looking over the list you sent me; I noticed that you asked for the BIOS version, so I checked Gigabyte's website, and there was a newer version (5 days old). Anyways, I went ahead and flashed the BIOS; I figure this might be able to make some pretty drastic changes in the system's behavior, so should I start the stress testing over, or do you think I should just pick up from where I left off? If it's the latter, I'll fill in the sheet tomorrow... not enough time tonight.
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 11-16-2010, 07:52 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Overclocking Extreme Edition... Multiplier or BCLOCK?

I can't help you if I don't know whats going on.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 11-16-2010, 01:43 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Overclocking Extreme Edition... Multiplier or BCLOCK?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
I can't help you if I don't know whats going on.
I know... maybe I wasn't clear. What I was wondering is if updating the BIOS could cause enough changes that you want to completely restart the overclocking process. In other words, is it possible that a new BIOS could result in me not having the same problem, or possibly have problems I didn't before? For example, there have been times where I have had a technical issue with a game, then I installed a new GPU driver, and the problem was gone; there have also been times that I installed the driver and a new problem occured.

Long story short, I'm really early in the overclocking process, so it's not at all a big deal for me to change everything back to stock voltages, then re-run the stability tests I've performed... it might take an hour at the most. Then, if the same problem persists despite the BIOS update, I'll fill out the form. I figure the less changes you make to the voltage, the better, so unless you think it's a waste of time, it sounds like the more prudent way of going about things.

Thanks!
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 11-16-2010, 06:17 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Overclocking Extreme Edition... Multiplier or BCLOCK?

Your motherboard isn't the same as mine so your default voltages could be different than mine or what I may expect them to be. Starting from scratch is probably a good idea, or you can show me the stock settings and your present settings.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 11-17-2010, 12:13 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Overclocking Extreme Edition... Multiplier or BCLOCK?

Yeah, I agree starting from scratch is the best option. I'll let you know if the problems continue... thanks for the help!
__________________

__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking, FSB Vs Multiplier jseber1982 Overclocking and Modding 12 04-01-2008 09:36 AM
AMD Athlon X2 5000+ Black Edition: Unlocked Multiplier for less than $150!! veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 11 10-22-2007 07:00 PM
P4 Extreme Edition woot7800GT Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 05-23-2005 01:52 AM
The different between Extreme and Extreme Edition? Labtech Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 12-17-2004 03:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.